Cha, Cha, Cha Chia Margarita????

All of us of some age, remember the catchy jingle for the ever popular Chia Pets – Cha, Cha, Cha Chia Pets!

Well, I never got one of those clay pets with fast growing “hair;” my parents thought they were stupid. Recently, I’ve added Chia seeds to my diet – amazingly high in good Omega 3s and since I NEVER eat fish, I wanted to include them. While I was grinding my seeds (they don’t digest otherwise), I spilled a handful on the counter.

Light Bulb! Wonder if these seeds sold for consumption will grow! I didn’t have any clay heads – animal or otherwise – so I threw some good soil into an old margarita glass I got at a thrift store for another project. That was Sunday night.

My Tuesday, this is what they looked like:

_chia-1

 

Look at the roots

Look at the roots

And today, Thursday, my Chia Margarita has a full head of hair!

Rapunzal Let Down Your Hair

Rapunzal Let Down Your Hair

Who knew seeds could be so fun! I wonder how long it will grow before it dies. I think I might add it to my salad tonight!

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. diannegray
    Jul 18, 2013 @ 23:39:49

    WOW! I’m trying this šŸ˜€ What a great idea

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      Jul 19, 2013 @ 00:18:15

      It is fun, I think I can actually see it grow! My grands are coming in the morning and I think I will make them each a little jar to take home! I have plenty of seeds!

      Reply

  2. apronheadlilly
    Jul 19, 2013 @ 05:00:04

    Wow, how cool. I eat chia, as well. I also sprout alfalfa and clover. I should sprout chia!! Thanks for the idea.

    Reply

  3. apronheadlilly
    Jul 20, 2013 @ 01:03:38

    Weird. When I tried from a different response you had given, clicking on the lily pad, it only went to your Gravatar (which I still don’t know what that is supposed to do). Then I tried clicking on your name and it took me here. On the other post your icon was not your lily pad. Confused yet?

    BTW, I decided to sprout some chia and figured I could do it just like my other seeds that I sprout. Ha, ha! They turned to jelly around the seed and wouldn’t even drain through the strainer! Now I’m doing it on a wet paper towel. šŸ™‚

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      Jul 20, 2013 @ 16:43:25

      Yes, I logged out and tried signing back in, maybe that will help.
      Yup, they swell up the first day and then sprout. I guess if you want to eat them, You shouldn’t put them in dirt????
      Didn’t think of that, then again, I was just playing.

      Reply

      • apronheadlilly
        Jul 20, 2013 @ 16:50:29

        There was still a problem on clicking on your icon, not on this post, but the first one I tried earlier. The lily is missing when it’s like that. Hmm, wonder what is going on.

      • Darla Welchel
        Jul 20, 2013 @ 18:34:46

        I’ve changed my browser from Safari to Firefox and I think its working right now. I was having all sorts of problems with Safari. It has had my email messed up for months. Everytime I would reply or forward something, I had a drop down box that said there was a problem and I would have to cancel or respond or report, etc.. I hope that is corrected now as well. I haven’t tried it out.
        I don’t know why I took so long to switch back to firefox; I’ve always used it and when I got my new computer, I just used what was on. When I did the switch, firefox imported all my info (except kept passwords) from safari.

      • apronheadlilly
        Jul 20, 2013 @ 21:15:18

        We are so spoiled with our techy stuff. šŸ™‚ We assume nothing should go wrong. Oh, wait, I know. Your problems were from the NSA hacking in to your accounts. You are in BIG trouble.

      • Darla Welchel
        Jul 21, 2013 @ 16:00:44

        I do hope you are joking – I have been blasting the pres as of late!

      • apronheadlilly
        Jul 20, 2013 @ 16:50:49

        It was the WW Challenge 3 one.

      • Darla Welchel
        Jul 20, 2013 @ 18:35:30

        I’m sorry, I’m lost? WW Challenge 3 one what? Lily, you can’t expect this old gal to remember anything from more than a day ago!

      • apronheadlilly
        Jul 20, 2013 @ 21:13:43

        WW should have been WP = Weekly Photo Challenge. šŸ™‚ EIther way, is WP sorting out your problem?

      • Darla Welchel
        Jul 21, 2013 @ 16:00:04

        WEll, I switched my browser to Firefox and it seemed to be fixed, but now its back to wanting me to sign in with my email when I comment????? And I just posted a blog, so I am signed in????
        Who do I contact to get this fixed? I’m not knowledgeable enough to fix this on my own. šŸ˜›

  4. stuffitellmysister
    Jul 20, 2013 @ 18:52:50

    Genius!! This made me laugh a lot…..plus I am going to have to try it!! So do these little guys taste similar to alfalfa sprouts in you salad? I usually just throw the chia seed in the blender when I make smoothies. Good job….and so pretty, too. šŸ™‚

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      Jul 20, 2013 @ 19:04:06

      I haven’t actually ate of them yet. I put the “ground” seeds in my muesli every morning.
      It has been fun because they grow so fast. I made three little ones (in applesauce cups) with my grands yesterday so they could watch them grow.
      I researched and it said that you get no benefit from the seeds if they are not ground. They are so small, our teeth don’t grind them and whole, they go right through you and don’t break down. Soaking takes away the nutrients. So I just used my coffee grinder.

      Reply

  5. Leanne Cole
    Jul 22, 2013 @ 10:03:21

    Sorry I don’t know that tune, I’ve never heard of it, but I love your margarita hair. I hope it tasted good.

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      Jul 22, 2013 @ 13:44:41

      Seriously, I thought Chia Pets were world wilde! google it! šŸ™‚ It was catchy and very annoying and everyone wanted one! Now that I see how fast they grow and probably die, I’m glad I never wasted my money on one. Holy Cow! I just checked and you can still buy those stupid things and they range from $20-30!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,621 hits
