The Danger of What We Eat

With Isis and Ebola taking over the airwaves, Internet and newsprint, our country is in a constant state of fear for the safety of our families.
But it is not what is attacking us from beyond our boarders that we should be concerned about, but the attack on the health and well being of our children from within our own government that should have us most concerned.
I recently watched the documentary narrated by Katie Couric, Fed Up, an up-close look at the Big Food industry and how it is literally killing, not only our children, but eventually all Americans.

Stop-Sugar-Cravings-Naturally-1
I know this sounds a bit drastic and over the top, but the simple fact is that this is not a new problem and our government – influenced by Big Money from Big Foods, is jeopardizing America’s health in order to keep their pockets nice and fleeced.
Fed Up takes a look at nearly 40 years of cover-ups by the government. It will make you mad when you watch it; it did me. In fact, I watched it more than once and got angrier every time I did. But I’m a journalist, and nothing can be changed or influenced by anger, so I write.
Although I’m not a fan of Couric with her extreme liberal slants, she took an honest bi-partisan look into this current healthcare crisis.
The movie focuses on how Big Food has targeted our children to sell their products. Through commercials, Internet and toys designed to make them wanting to come back for more, children (and adults) are constantly bombarded with images, smells and tastes that all tell them to eat more.

sugar-obesity-web
Full of countless interviews with experienced and respected professionals, Fed Up, uncovers the ugly truth about sugar. It is in almost all of our foods, whether it is really needed or not. In fact, one expert reported that American food shelves carry over 600,000 items and over 80 percent of them have added sugar.
Now sugar is addictive, very addictive, and it is introduced and fed to children – sometimes from birth (it is added to lactose-free formula). Children get it from morning until night – as do many adults. Like I said, the health reports on the danger of too much sugar have been covered up for over 40 years.
In the coming weeks, I will be sharing some of the more unsettling and blatant truths about sugar, Big Food and the government’s involvement with the cover-ups.
I would highly recommend that everyone watch this documentary. You can check it out from a library or buy it for under $10 on Amazon.com. If your still not sure if you want to watch Fed Up, check out the movie’s website at http://fedupmovie.com/#/page/home.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. diannegray
    Oct 18, 2014 @ 01:57:47

    This sounds very interesting, Darla. There is a fair bit of evidence that suggests societies who once lived on natural foods have a significant decrease in longevity once they are introduced to western food. I’m going to have a look at this documentary.

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      Oct 18, 2014 @ 13:25:31

      I can believe it. It makes me so angry, but we should know the dangers. But what really upsets me is how they sneak it into foods we believe are healthy. There are about a 100 different names for the sugars they use.
      I saw a Youtube video of people in either Australia or New Zealand that are introduced to “western” sugary snacks for the first time. Most were instantly hooked. Sorry if they make it over there. Stop it now! :-}
      ]

      Reply

  2. elisa ruland
    Oct 24, 2014 @ 23:35:55

    Not everyone understands the discipline of “everything in moderation,” and it’s those people who are vulnerable to our big government and giant food industry. I’m almost afraid to watch it, to be honest! Great post, Darla.

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      Oct 25, 2014 @ 12:58:32

      Don’t be afraid; it makes you look at food differently. I’m not saying I am successful in cutting out all foods with sugar (yet), but I’m definitely looking at my foods better. What made me the angriest is that they target children.
      I’ve written my second article on this (well its part one of the expose) for my paper, I will post it next week on here. This first one was an opinion piece, the next 3 will be just the facts.

      Reply

  3. apronheadlilly
    Oct 28, 2014 @ 05:03:19

    I have just watched and listened to a lot of interviews and presentations from several sources–free webinars. I am chock full to the top of info–some conflicting. But in order to stay on the straight and narrow food path, I need to keep reminding myself what is poison in so much of what is available to eat.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,571 hits
