Let There Be LIFE

I always get giddy when, after the deadness of winter, life begins to show up around my place. Although I have a notorious brown thumb, blooms and buds seem to somehow survive the winter and me! I think is is appropriate we celebrate the resurrection of Jesus during the spring when new life abounds around us to remind us that HE too died and rose again, for us. Happy Easter

Screen Shot 2014-04-21 at 11.04.28 AM

Intermixed with all the green, the burnt red of this oak leaf add more color and depth to my landscape

Tiny Cyprus buds. This tree in the pine family looses is needles every fall, littering my yard not only with their large bumpy knees, but also an abundance of rust-colored needles!

Tiny Cyprus buds. This tree in the pine family looses is needles every fall, littering my yard not only with their large bumpy knees, but also an abundance of rust-colored needles!

minute testaments to new life!

minute testaments to new life!

Screen Shot 2014-04-21 at 11.05.52 AM

Flowers and warts: The redbud tree – Oklahoma’s State tree – gets many of these “wart-like” growths along branches and they are usually surrounded by more buds.

Screen Shot 2014-04-21 at 11.05.22 AM

This very tiny offshoot resembles the larger version of itself.

I shot this in color and converted to black and white, then took it one step further by bringing back the color of the buds in the next image.

I shot this in color and converted to black and white, then took it one step further by bringing back the color of the buds in the next image.

I love the way - in the absence of limbs - the buds will find a way to bloom! I think they are my favorite part of this tree.

I love the way – in the absence of limbs – the buds will find a way to bloom! I think they are my favorite part of this tree.

Screen Shot 2014-04-21 at 11.17.19 AM

My redbud tree (sadly beginning to die off) gives me many opportunities for spring photos. Silhouetted against a bright and beautiful spring sky brings happiness and hope.

My redbud tree (sadly beginning to die off) gives me many opportunities for spring photos. Silhouetted against a bright and beautiful spring sky brings happiness and hope.

Don't be fooled by this large bloom, it is in fact just over a 1/4 inch across. Creeping phlox are the first to show their bright faces as they carpet my garden path!

Don’t be fooled by this large bloom, it is in fact just over a 1/4 inch across. Creeping phlox are the first to show their bright faces as they carpet my garden path!

Screen Shot 2014-04-21 at 11.27.52 AM

Have a beautiful week!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. diannegray
    Apr 22, 2014 @ 04:52:14

    Beautiful, Darla! 😀

    Reply

  2. elisa ruland
    Apr 22, 2014 @ 17:33:08

    This is a lovely spring series, Darla!

    Reply

  3. rommel
    Apr 26, 2014 @ 20:07:54

    Love this post, Darla. Incredibly beautiful photos and arrangements. And as always, love your captions. Love the redbud tree pics the most.

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      Apr 27, 2014 @ 15:12:17

      Thank you Rommel! I always enjoy hearing from you! Yes, the redbud is my favorite and I have spent many hours/years capturing it on film first, then digitally. The one in my yard was one of the most spectacular specimens I had ever seen. Perfectly formed and with its graceful limbs took on the look of a well formed bonsai! Sadly, this tree is short lived, that coupled with the fact that a large sycamore tree encroached on its space has caused about half of it to die. I can’t bare to cut it down, so I’ve planted wisteria to take it over. 🙂

      Reply

  4. roughwighting
    May 02, 2014 @ 22:31:12

    You capture new life beautifully!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,667 hits
