Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition

Juxtaposition.

This is an interesting and often confusing word. An online dictionary defines it as:

jux·ta·po·si·tion

[juhk-stuh-puh-zish-uhn] Show IPA

noun

1. an act or instance of placing close together or side by side, especially for comparison or contrast.
2. the state of being close together or side by side.
I had always been taught that in photography, juxtaposition defined a composition that was in sharp contrast either in style, function or idea.  Kind of like Beauty and the Beast.
I love this old forgotten home surrounded by equally forgotten wild miniature roses.

I love this old forgotten home surrounded by equally forgotten wild miniature roses. I actually named this image Beauty and the Beast

Here are a few images I have that signify juxtaposition to me.

Nature vs. Machine

Nature vs. Machine

To be so near and yet so far away; the St. Louis Arch has been photographed so many ways, it was difficult to get a truly unique image. I basically stood with my back to the arch and bent over backwards to get this angle.

An example of man reaching toward God.

Glass spires stretch towards the pillow-soft clouds in the sky. Truly near and far.

Another example of the contrast between man-made and the heavens!

The animalistic graffiti against the elegant gracefulness of this lover's bench, struck me as sad.

The animalistic graffiti against the elegant gracefulness of this lover’s bench, struck me as sad.

I love the metal cross atop the fence panel nestled against the Rose of Sharon. This actually more ironic than juxtaposed.

I love the metal cross atop the fence panel nestled against the Rose of Sharon. This actually more ironic than juxtaposed.

Have a great day!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. diannegray
    Feb 01, 2014 @ 05:27:21

    These are perfect pics for the challenge, Darla 😀

    Reply

  2. Island Traveler
    Feb 02, 2014 @ 08:44:07

    Dramatic, impressive, moving contrasts. Beautiful images that make us think, reflect and value life and events. Have a great weekend.

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      Feb 02, 2014 @ 20:27:48

      Thanks IT, I always look forward to your comments! It snowed today, but havn’et made myself get out in this

      Reply

  3. rommel
    Feb 06, 2014 @ 06:11:11

    Uncanny images! Love the first two especially the butterfly being attracted to its liking. And is that The Arch in St. Louis, or somewhere else?

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      Feb 06, 2014 @ 17:22:02

      Thanks Romel! Yes, that is the arch in St. Louis. I wanted to get a different angle than most so I backed up to it and did a back bend of sorts to get the shot. I too love the butterfly on the Harley and the old house and flowers! They are two of my favs!

      Reply

  4. Trackback: Solvang, California « The Sophomore Slump
  5. Sun
    Mar 22, 2014 @ 04:31:33

    love your collection especially the nature vs machine…the delicate butterfly against the hard machine surface. beautiful colors…

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      Mar 22, 2014 @ 15:15:40

      Aw, thank you. Its one of my favs. So many times, the really great images are a matter of being in the right place at the right time (and with the right camera!)
      🙂

      Reply

  6. Trackback: #268 Featured Images « The Sophomore Slump
    • Darla Welchel
      Apr 14, 2014 @ 03:54:31

      Thanks Rommel! (PS, last name is Welchel – hey, I even spelled it wrong in the beginning! LOL)

      Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      Jul 08, 2014 @ 22:42:01

      I’m sorry I haven’t been commenting on your blog as of late. I upgraded my computer and now I can’t comment on anybody’s (except one) blogs. Very frustrating. Some days, I can’t even open them. 😦
      Have a great summer.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,616 hits
