Weekly Photo Challenge: Playing With Fire II

These fire images were taken in my burn pit with my camera phone as part of a month long experiment with Phonography. The first is of the actual fire and the second is of the aftermath.

There is an ethereal quality of fire that captures our gaze and makes us want to reach out and caress it. But the sane person knows never to be fooled by the seductress.  Taken with my iPhone 4s. I used Camera+ and edited with the HDR feature.

There is an ethereal quality of fire that captures our gaze and makes us want to reach out and caress it. But the sane person knows never to be fooled by the seductress.
Taken with my iPhone 4s. I used Camera+ and edited with the HDR feature.

The intensity of fire consumes all that is in its wake leaving only the skeletal remains of old doors and couches.  Again, taken with my iPhone.

The intensity of fire consumes all that is in its wake leaving only the skeletal remains of old doors and couches.
Again, taken with my iPhone.

 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. diannegray
    Jan 16, 2014 @ 08:02:23

    Great pics, Darla! 😀

    Reply

  2. Island Traveler
    Jan 18, 2014 @ 03:49:33

    I’m drawn to fire too. Beautiful pictures. Wishing you and your family a New Year full of amazing , wonderful blessings.

    Reply

  3. Island Traveler
    Jan 23, 2014 @ 06:00:36

    Always a joy the read your stories and watching your stunning world through these pictures. Have a blessed week.

    Reply

  4. rommel
    Jan 26, 2014 @ 11:35:29

    Love the write-ups associated with your excellent phoneographies.

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      Jan 26, 2014 @ 17:34:49

      Aw, thanks Rommel! That does a writer’s heart good!
      You know, my high school English teacher told me I should never write as I wasn’t any good. It was kind of ironic that decades later, I had to interview her for the newspaper for which I worked.

      Reply

      • rommel
        Jan 26, 2014 @ 21:39:01

        Yikes! That’s an ouch for her. Did you drill her, or were you gentle? That must be so awkward.

      • Darla Welchel
        Jan 27, 2014 @ 02:15:11

        No, I was very nice. She was so old that I don’t think she even remembered that she said that to me. She acted like she was responsible for me becoming a writer.
        It was however a fluke; I was in college for photography and my professors made me start writing. Or I should say encouraged. i guess they saw potential. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,881 hits
