Weekly Photo Challenge: Let There Be Light!

Photography, in a word, is painting with light. And what better time of year to capture light!

I love Christmas lights, they make me happy. We have several really superior light shows close to where I live; the images below came from the Yukon Festival of Lights, one of my favorites.

Curtains of lights overlaying a light display reflected in water - that's what I call a trifecta!

Curtains of lights overlaying a light display reflected in water – that’s what I call a trifecta!

Beautiful light reflection!

Beautiful light reflection!

More lights on the water.

More lights on the water.

I'm sensing a theme!

I’m sensing a theme!

The water dragon has always been one of my favorite displays, I think its because of the water!

The water dragon has always been one of my favorite displays, I think its because of the water!

And, who doesn't love penguins?! Especially when they are decorating a tree!

And, who doesn’t love penguins?! Especially when they are decorating a tree!

Merry Christmas my friends!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rommel
    Dec 11, 2013 @ 03:48:29

    People do get sooo creative with light decos this time of the season. I love it! Can’t wait to see some myself. I need to practice on my light photography. I wish mine will be as great as yours.

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      Dec 14, 2013 @ 19:23:25

      Rommel, Thanks! Uuse a tripod and set your exposure longer. That will help. I shoot with a NIKON D800, it is 36 mp with a 6400 ISO. This was my first attempt at lights with this camera and I was able to hand hold it and get these shots. If I use a tripod next time, I think I can get even better shots.

      Reply

  2. Island Traveler
    Dec 14, 2013 @ 16:02:53

    Holiday lights that make our hearts truly glow in joy and delight. Wishing you and your love ones all the blessings of Christmas.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,616 hits
