New Yard Guests

For the past two weeks, I have had the most unlikely of “yard” guests – two beautiful peafowls.

My yard guests

My yard guests

They arrived early one morning last week with a flock of wild turkeys, and they were a bit skiddish. As I went in to retrieve my camera, they were already making their way back to the creek. I whistled the call of the peacock, but even that did not entice them to stay. (yes, I can whistle like a peacock, a trick I learned while growing up next to a farmer who raised the noisy birds).

Bird on The Run! The first morning they were having none of my attempts at photographing them.

Bird on The Run! The first morning they were having none of my attempts at photographing them.

The Turks who brought the ladies with them.

The Turks who brought the ladies with them.

The next day, the turkeys, and subsequently, the peafowls returned. This time they were a little more curious and I was able to shoot some fleeting shots of them.

They were missing for a day or two but returned – without the turks – and decided to poke around in my compost pile. I offered them many tidbits to sample and although they checked out the tomatoes and other morsels, they liked the bread the best.

Isn't she pretty?

Isn’t she pretty?

Although the girls aren't as flashy as their male counterparts, they still wear their colors beautifully.

Although the girls aren’t as flashy as their male counterparts, they still wear their colors beautifully.

Getting braver; on my driveway.

Getting braver; on my driveway.

So naturally, I made a trip to the feed store and bought some wild bird food (why not kill two birds – so to speak – with one stone). They were not impressed and preferred the bread.

Just checking out the bugs!

Just checking out the bugs!

The next day after buying the food, you got it, NO SHOW. I was very sad because although they are making a big mess on my front porch, I enjoyed seeing them everyday.

This morning, when I got up, guess who was peeking in my glass door waiting for something to eat? Yes, my girls are back.

Let Me IN! Their favorite spot now is on my front porch looking into my house.

Let Me IN! Their favorite spot now is on my front porch looking into my house.

Nosy Girl

Nosy Girl

I don’t know how long they will stay, but for now, I will enjoy them.

Screen Shot 2013-09-21 at 10.02.24 AM

On Their way to my flower garden.

On Their way to my flower garden.

I don't have many flowers, but I think they like to eat them. :-(   At least that was what my research turned up -along with just about anything, so I guess I don't need to worry about what they will eat.

I don’t have many flowers, but I think they like to eat them. 😦 At least that was what my research turned up -along with just about anything, so I guess I don’t need to worry about what they will eat.

I think I should name them; or do you think its too early? One is more timid than the other. Any suggestions?

I think I should name them; or do you think its too early? One is more timid than the other. Any suggestions?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. apronheadlilly
    Sep 23, 2013 @ 03:00:44

    So pretty!

    Reply

  2. Island Traveler
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 02:41:32

    Oh, wow! These guest are totally beautiful! A fun, exciting yard surprise. Wish there’s something like that around Houston. Have a great week. Joy and blessings to you and your family.

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      Oct 09, 2013 @ 22:51:51

      Thanks, sadly they haven’t been around for about a week. They may have found their way home and the owners locked them up. I know if they were mine, I would.

      Reply

  3. Darla Welchel
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 14:42:51

    Thanks IT, they are fun and I have gotten a little more than attached to the idea of their presence. Yesterday, they didn’t show up and I was sad. 😦
    But today, they are here again! πŸ™‚ I will enjoy them while they are around.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,616 hits
