Weekly Photo Challenge: Inside

I would love to know what exactly goes on INSIDE the head of my second grandson.

Mac is happiest when he is building something, like this tower almost to the ceiling.

Mac is happiest when he is building something, like this tower almost to the ceiling, which he built today.

MacKenzie is now ten years old and his mind is an enigma. You see, Mac was finally diagnosed with Pragmatic Language Disorder when he was eight, but he (and his family) struggled to know what was going on in his head since he was a baby. It is a form of sensory dysfunction on the autism spectrum. In short, his brain – although very active, creative and intelligent – doesn’t work like everyone elses.

Mac can't always get out what's going on in his mind and that is very frustrating to him. He also doesn't always take in what's on the outside easily. But when he does get it out, it is always amazing!

Mac can’t always get out what’s going on in his mind and that can be very frustrating to him. He also doesn’t always take in what’s on the outside easily. But when he does get it out, it is always amazing!

And although, this has been very difficult for him, I would have him no other way. You see, Mac-A-Roni (one my nick-name for him) looks at the world much differently than most kids his age. Where a large group of ten year-old’s are already trying to grow up too fast or getting into trouble, Mac is still in touch with his inner creative child.

To you and me, it is just a ball; to Mac it becomes a helmet, hair, spikes . . .

To you and me, it is just a ball; to Mac it becomes a helmet, hair, spikes . . .

He occasionally builds "something normal" out of his Legos and Bionicles.

He occasionally builds “something normal” out of his Legos and Bionicles.

Whether it is Legos, blocks, found objects, cardboard boxes, trash and/or duct tape, Mac can build something amazing out of it. He can see the possibility in anything – not what it is, but what it has the potential to be!

If you value your duct, packing, masking, or scotch tape, you better keep it hidden (any thing sticky for that matter) Because Mac will confiscate it and create something with it!

If you value your duct, packing, masking, or scotch tape, you better keep it hidden (any thing sticky for that matter), because Mac will confiscate it and create something with it!

It is true that he doesn’t always mesh with other kids his age, and organized child’s sports can often bring about a “meltdown,” because his mind cannot comprehend always why someone hit him with a ball, but he can melt your heart with a single Kola Bear Hug in a heart-beat!

When he was little, Mac used to jump up in my arms and wrap his long, skinny arms and legs around me like a kola bear and hang of for a great hug. Now, I have to settle for "normal" hugs like the one he gives his sister, Isabelle.

When he was little, Mac used to jump up in my arms and wrap his long, skinny arms and legs around me like a kola bear and hang on for a great big hug. Now, I have to settle for “normal” hugs like the one he gives his sister, Isabelle.

It always breaks my heart when someone “judges” him unkindly as being a bad kid or trouble just because they don’t take the time to get to know him of discover the issues he has to deal with on any given day. And although he can say things that aren’t always appropriate, he knows right from wrong and the only person he has ever hurt has been himself. (often Pragmatics will harm themselves out of frustration). I know – because of the lessons I’ve learned from my Macky Mac –  that I am not so quick to think poorly of a disruptive child.

When Mac is having trouble with crowds and noises, he has learned to "remove" himself from the uncomfortable stimuli until he is feeling better.

When Mac is having trouble with crowds and noises, he has learned to “remove” himself from the uncomfortable stimuli until he is feeling better.

We each march to the beat of a different drummer, and Mac’s drummer is beating a wicked riff! But, I would still like to climb INSIDE his genius little brain – at least, once . I couldn’t handle anything longer, because I’m not as strong as he is.

a different angle of the tower he built today. He loves it when I photo journal his creations.

a different angle of the tower he built today. He loves it when I photo journal his creations.

Parting Shots of my Mac!

I always have time to take pictures of all of his creations –  sometimes, multiple times!

another nick-name is Monkey Mac, you can see why as he dangles from a tree.

Another nick-name is Monkey Mac; you can see why as he dangles from a tree in my backyard.

He would make an entire suit of armor if he had enough Legos!

He would make an entire suit of armor if he had enough Legos!

Mac is a loyal friend, but his friends (like his cousin, Owen) know that he has bad moments and its best to leave him alone until he can work through them.

Mac is a loyal friend, but his friends (like his cousin, Owen) know that he has bad moments and its best to leave him alone until he can work through them.

Found objects can be a source of hours of fun!

Found objects can be a source of hours of fun!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rebekah
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 00:10:52

    Great story mom, love my Mac.

    Reply

  2. Island Traveler
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 02:50:27

    A beautiful, moving, very enlightening post. Mac is a light, joy and inspiration to us all. He symbolize what is pure and what we hope in this world like innocense, kindness, love, a child-like creativity that has endless possibilities. I am touched when you wrote this, “Where a large group of ten year-old’s are already trying to grow up too fast or getting into trouble, Mac is still in touch with his inner creative child.” Just today, me and my wife brought our second grader to school. We kissed and hugged us tightly before saying goodbye. My wife said, “We need to make the most of this moments cause soon he will grow up.” I felt a sense of sadness. His childhood brought us happiness we will treasure always. Wishing Mac and his family all the best.

    Reply

  3. Darla Welchel
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 14:41:00

    Aw, IT, I always love reading your posts and comments. You too have a beautiful way of looking at this world. Mac IS truly special, but not unique in his ability to love and play. I see that in you and your son as well. So much of what a child “will grow up to be” is in how they are raised. You have given your son a glimpse into your world/mind and have made him an important part of that world and I don’t think he will ever grow too old for your love.
    My other grandson, Ethan – Mac’s brother, just turned 13. He always gives me a big hug. He is getting more independent, but he loves being with family. I don’t know if that is because he is homeschooled and away from the constant influence of his peers or if its just his nature, I would like to think a little of both, but he is also a jewel.
    I’m sure little boy will always be that for you as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,749 hits
