Weekly Photo Challenge: Focus

I have a nasty habit of “just skimming” things that come into my email; so I didn’t really tackle the entire challenge of focus. I have a very shallow depth of field with the trail of mushrooms and a bit deeper dof with the single mushroom top. I suppose I could scour my images to find one with deep depth of field, but I’m lazy!

Anyway, what I really wanted to say about this challenge is that I love the emotions different depths of fields provoke. From the ethereal (shallow) to the pragmatic (deep) depths of fields, focus has the ability to take our minds to places other than just what the image portrays.

No matter what plane your focal point is in a shallow depth of field, it makes for an interesting image.

No matter what plane your focal point is in a shallow depth of field, it makes for an interesting image. With the focal point in the middle, it leads your eye through the image.

Screen Shot 2013-08-26 at 2.28.16 PM

I love the far away feeling of a front focal point in a shallow depth of field.

Screen Shot 2013-08-26 at 2.28.30 PM

This was a deep crimson flower, not one you would think would look good in black and white, but when I converted it, I found I loved the lack of color better. Without the distraction of color, you can see the flower for all its hidden beauty.

This is another example of shallow dof, but I liked it, so it made the cut!

 

Okay, so I found one that I took on vacation two years ago. Its not that remarkable of an image (in comparison to some of my blogging friends) but it does demonstrate the use of a deeper depth of field.

Okay, so I found one that I took on vacation two years ago. Its not that remarkable of an image (in comparison to some of my blogging friends) but it does demonstrate the use of a deeper depth of field.

 

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,749 hits
