Even When I Don’t Feel Like Shining

Screen Shot 2013-07-28 at 11.13.03 AMI was given an awesome incentive to get back into life today! My blogging friend, Marsha, presented me with the SHINE ON Award! It is special in that it shows that someone out there recognizes and supports both my writing and my photography!

So Thank you Marsha

Screen Shot 2013-07-28 at 12.27.46 PMYou can click on her name and go see what she is up too!

Here are the rules for this award, which isn’t that different from many of the others that are roaming around:

1.Display the award logo on your blog page. (above)
2.Link back to the awesome person who nominated you. (click on her name above)
3.Tell seven things about yourself. (below)
4.Nominate 10 other bloggers who are deserving of this award. (below)   🙂

Here are seven things that I hope are new and interesting

1. I just got my new camera equipment and am back in business! A NIKON D800! Now if I could just figure out how to work everything!

2. I manage seven FaceBook pages for my husband and his sister’s business and my business and my word press page and a couple of personal pages! I know, overkill!

3. I had a wreck at the first of the summer so have been out of work because my camera was ruined and I’m in a BIG rut!

4. I am in the process of refinishing a couple of old dressers to use: 1. in my bedroom and 2. in my living room (as a technology storage unit) although I’ve been in this process for many, many months – see #3.

5. I’m a very empathetic person and my heart breaks when I learn of tragic stories. Sometimes this is not good as it keeps me from sleeping, but it reminds me to pray for people, so if you have a need. . . .

6. I lack self confidence something that is hard to admit – so I tend to overcompensate and drive people crazy in areas I feel I have a bit of knowledge or expertise. Don’t we all! I need to get out of my rut and get to learning more things, especially about my new camera so I can really use it well!

7. I love my family very much, and find my biggest joy in spending time with them.

My 10 nominees:

1. Leanne of Leanne Cole Photography, who is not only one of the best photographers, but also a superb teacher and a fast friend!

Leanne Cole Photography

Leanne Cole Photography

2. Paula of Stuff I Tell My Sister, whom without, I would still be posting only one blog a month!

Stuff I Tell My Sister

Stuff I Tell My Sister

3. Lily of Apron Head Lily, who makes me laugh and look at the world through a poets eyes!

ApronHead Lily

ApronHead Lily

4. Linda of Lynda Michele, who is a beautiful person, mother and fellow photographer whom I’ve learned so much from!

Lynda Michele

Lynda Michele

5. Micah, my beautiful daughter of Written and Illustrated, who helped me set up my first blog and who has been my inspiration for 28 years! She is a beautiful poet, writer, artist and photographer as well as my daughter! Go check out her page, although she is remodeling her home and hasn’t posted in a while!

From Micah Welchel's children's book, Who's That Hiding IN The Willow Tree

From Micah Welchel’s children’s book, Who’s That Hiding IN The Willow Tree

6. Lou of Lou’s Labyrinth, who is fresh, funny and fiercely passionate about life and family!

Lou's Labyrinth

Lou’s Labyrinth

7. Diane of Diane Gray Author, she is another of my Aussie friends who has become a great blogging friend! A gifted writer with dozens of published books, but she still has time to answer an email from an American!

Soul's Child by Dianne Gray

Soul’s Child by Dianne Gray

8. Ingrid of Live Laugh RV, who has taken me to places I could have only dreamed of traveling!

Live, Laugh RV

Live, Laugh RV

9. Patricia of Life of A Minister Mom, who inspires me to do better, love harder and live life with more faith!

Life of A Minister Mom

Life of A Minister Mom

and . .

10. I.T. (or Island Traveler) of This Man’s Journey, who has shown me that it is okay for men to be passionate, loving and faithful husbands and fathers!

Island Traveler

Island Traveler

And I know, that I’ve reached my 10 and that she has already received this award, but I want to acknowledge and thank Marsha of Marsh Lee, Streaming Thoughts (formally TC History Gal) for her friendship, her posts and her love of history and life. She has bestowed more than one award to me and I appreciate it so much!

Marsha Lee

Marsha Lee

There are so many others that inspire me and push me to be better as a photographer, writer, mother and friend – but the rules are for 10 nominees! I always think when I start this, “I don’t know 10 people well enough to nominate them.” Then I start going through them all and realize what an abundance of online friends and fellow bloggers that I have. I love you all and thank you for daily brightening my world!

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. apronheadlilly
    Jul 28, 2013 @ 20:54:16

    How fun!

    Reply

  2. diannegray
    Jul 28, 2013 @ 21:35:19

    Congratulations, Darla. Marsha’s blog is fantastic and what a lovely way to respond to this award. Thank you so much for the nomination – I’m very flattered indeed 😀

    Reply

  3. Leanne Cole
    Jul 28, 2013 @ 21:58:06

    I read your list and I think as you say we have become friends and I love it that I know most of that about your already. Congratulations Darla, Marsha is wonderful and I hope this recognition will be great for you. Well done.

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      Jul 29, 2013 @ 04:13:05

      Aw, Leanne you are so sweet; I only wish thousands of miles and a huge ocean didn’t separate us. But thank goodness for the World Wide Web! This is so much better than pen pals!

      Reply

  4. stuffitellmysister
    Jul 29, 2013 @ 14:53:43

    You are a rock star, Darla….and you never stopped shining! If you lived here I would be nagging you for photo lessons!!! Thanks for the nod ♥

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      Jul 29, 2013 @ 16:40:40

      Paula, you are so sweet, but I have been following your budding photography skills and you don’t need any lessons! You have such a good eye and a passion, which makes up for 10s of hours of lessons! You inspire me to do better!

      Reply

  5. Ingrid
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 02:39:20

    Oh my gosh Darla….thanks for the nomination. I’ve been out in the boonies and finally back where I have internet and can catch up. I was hoping you posted about your new camera and was pleasantly surprised to see your award….congrats. I love these things because I’ve found other blogs I enjoy via these awards. I’ll be sure and check them out. Congratulations and thanks again….hope you’re having fun with that new camera 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,881 hits
