Daily Post: A Moment of Kindness

As a photojournalist, I strived to focus on moments of kindness instead of doom and gloom. One particular day, I was sent out to cover a house fire – your typical doom and gloom feature that it seems most people desire to read/see in the newspaper. As I was shooting the devastating fire that was quickly (in spite of the gallant efforts of the firefighters) devouring the family home, I turned as a young girl arrived on scene.

A Helping arm

 

She heard that her house was on fire and left basketball practice in her stocking feet. The assistant chief of police met her running down the road and soon offered a comforting arm. This image has always epitomized random acts of kindness for me. The officer didn’t have to go to her and comfort her, but he chose to and in doing so eased the pain of losing her home.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. diannegray
    Jun 21, 2013 @ 19:59:18

    What an amazing and moving picture, Darla,

    Reply

  2. Leanne Cole
    Jun 21, 2013 @ 23:21:53

    I am glad you put this up here, was it printed originally in colour? It could tell so many stories, and does really. If you didn’t know about the fire, what story would it tell.

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      Jun 22, 2013 @ 17:28:09

      No, it was in black and white and I thought about converting it to black and white again, but somehow the yellow fire hose spoke to me. I could do it all in B&W and leave the hose yellow. 🙂
      My grandson glanced at the photo and asked what the basketball girl did that caused the cop to take her away. He didn’t look at it closely or might have noticed the fire hose. Although we are country dwellers and we don’t see a lot of fires so he may not have knows what the hose was.

      Reply

  3. stephbowen14
    Jun 24, 2013 @ 18:48:42

    This is a good friend that I graduated with. The story is tragic. This was the second fire to take their home. The first fire happened when we were in elementary school, I believe. They rebuilt, only to lose their home again. Very moving photo and thanks for sharing.

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      Jun 24, 2013 @ 20:21:32

      Hi Stephanie, good to hear from you; its been a while. I did not know the back story; how sad. I hope everything is going well for them now. Thank you for your sweet comments!

      Reply

  4. Island Traveler
    Jun 28, 2013 @ 08:08:25

    I felt for the girl. Loosing your home is a tragic event. I hope she and her family now have a new place to call home or was able to fix their old one. Kindness help us go through the most difficult of times.

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      Jun 28, 2013 @ 12:33:52

      I’m not sure where the story went from here; that is the problem with photojournalism/reporting often times you don’t get a followup. It is a smaller community, so I’m sure they had lots of help! She is in college now.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,621 hits
