Here At Last

I have a small fish pond. No it doesn’t have any fish in it, because our local cranes kept eating them. But it does hold my beloved lily plant. Now most of you have become aquatinted with our WEATHER in Oklahoma over the past few weeks, so you will understand when I say hail has kept my plant from blooming for three years!

Each spring for the past three years, just as my lily plant was putting on beautiful leaves pads, we got hit with hail! And not just little hail, but car damaging, leaf stripping hail! Nothing like what hit before all the tornados this year, but enough to cause havoc in my garden. Because of this hail, my lily plant as not put out a single flower in three years! It has depressed me as I enjoy coming out to see the beautiful water flowers opening up in my little garden pond!

This is not snow in May, it is hundreds of marble size hail stones that ripped through leaves and flowers alike!

This is not snow in May, it is hundreds of marble size hail stones that ripped through leaves and flowers alike!

After the storm last year, nothing was left of my lily plant except a few stems.

After the storm last year, nothing was left of my lily plant except a few stems.

 

Well this year, all the hail storms went around our yard and when I came out one morning two weeks ago (before the tornados), I was greeted to a bud about to open and then the next day a full bloom! I know its silly, but with everything going on around me and all the destruction, this single bloom holds a measure of hope for me! Enjoy!

Just opening up to say, "Hi!"

Just opening up to say, “Hi!”

Trying to hide under a lily pad!

Trying to hide under a lily pad!

So perfectly formed and no hail damage!

So perfectly formed and no hail damage!

pure and white with a touch of sunshine

pure and white with a touch of sunshine

It reminds me of a tea cup.

It reminds me of a tea cup.

 

 

 

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. apronheadlilly
    Jun 07, 2013 @ 16:19:25

    Yay!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  2. Marian
    Jun 07, 2013 @ 16:49:54

    I had a pink and a white lily one summer but could not keep them over the winter. Yes storms are murder on plants and people me

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      Jun 07, 2013 @ 20:04:33

      Yes they are! 🙂 Mine comes back each spring but this is the first in three years to have another bloom.

      Reply

  3. Ingrid
    Jun 07, 2013 @ 21:46:18

    Yeah….it’s so pretty. Stay safe….those storms sure are scary. I’m glad they’ve by-passed you.

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      Jun 08, 2013 @ 13:46:43

      Thanks Ingrid, we might get some more this coming week. Whenever our temps get high and a front moves in, there is a chance for severe weather. Our second storm claimed as many lives as the first one. 😦 Around 50 for the month of May.

      Reply

  4. stuffitellmysister
    Jun 08, 2013 @ 23:01:32

    A survivor! Beautiful, Darla ♥ How long will the bloom last?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,845 hits
