As If Tornados Weren’t Enough!

Just three days after one of the worst tornados in Oklahoma history, early this morning, the same areas received flash flooding. As far as I can tell, we didn’t have any homes flooded, but I could be wrong. But what I do know is that in less than an hour, my area got over 2″ and Moore, which was hardest hit during the tornado, received over 6 inches of rain! That is a lot of rain. Clint said that when it was coming down (I had finally gone to sleep) you couldn’t see out because the rain was falling is a solid sheet off the house!

I’ve taken consecutive shots (not a true panoramic because I had to keep adjusting my position because of the trees) from the south side of my house around to the front and then off to the north side. We basically have a moat around 3/4 of our property. Clint said he hopes there aren’t any alligators in it. I’ve not seen any, but there is definitely something in there making a lot of noise. We live on about five acres and about half of it is under water – we won’t be mowing any time soon; unfortunately the grass/weeds will keep growing through the water and when it does dry out, it is a jungle! We do not know why it floods like this, maybe because the builder dug out the yard lower than the creek and it just holds water. He did this to protect the house and I can say that in 19 years, water has never entered the house.

This is on the far south east corner of our yard. Behind the trees is the natural creek.

This is on the far south east corner of our yard. Behind the trees is the natural creek.

_flood-2

 

This is directly on the south side of my house; it is beginning to get wider.

This is directly on the south side of my house; it is beginning to get wider.

 

The front

The front

 

Front and across the driveway and to the north of my house.

Front and across the driveway and to the north of my house.

 

My driveway, the last time it flooded across my drive, we lost a very large cottonwood tree. It fell across the drive and we had to drive through our next acre neighbors yard to get out! Unfortunately the cottonwood was just about to "cotton" bloom and it did it on the ground! It looked like it had snowed!

My driveway, the last time it flooded across my drive, we lost a very large cottonwood tree. It fell across the drive and we had to drive through our next acre neighbors yard to get out! Unfortunately the cottonwood was just about to “cotton” bloom and it did it on the ground! It looked like it had snowed!

 

This is shot back toward the house from the drive to show how close it gets.

This is shot back toward the house from the drive to show how close it gets.

 

My nephew, who lives down the road, blew out his tire last night and got his truck to my drive. Not the best timing!

My nephew, who lives down the road, blew out his tire last night and got his truck to my drive. Not the best timing! He WAS going to come and change the tire today; it will be a day or two (or maybe a week) before He can get to it.

Needless to say, I think our drought is over! Bright side!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marian Evans
    May 23, 2013 @ 17:12:24

    That is one way to look at. Have water for nice green grass Me

    Marian Evans Sent from my iPad

    Reply

  2. Darla Welchel
    May 23, 2013 @ 17:50:57

    Unfortunately, we won’t be able to mow for weeks and then we will need a hay baler! 🙂

    Reply

  3. apronheadlilly
    May 23, 2013 @ 18:28:43

    Wow, stay safe! Crazy stuff!

    Reply

  4. diannegray
    May 23, 2013 @ 23:07:23

    We gets floods here as well, Darla – please stay safe…

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      May 24, 2013 @ 21:07:50

      This one wasn’t really bad, this is just what happens when we get a lot of rain in a few hours. My yard is a joke! My photo a day post for yesterday (which I will post in a few minutes because I’m behind) will show what I do with this ongoing problem.

      Reply

  5. Trackback: May Photo-a-day Challenge: Day 23 Funny | Through The Lens

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,843 hits
