Sunshine Bloggers Award – I feel so loved!

You ever have a day that isn’t going so well and then you open up your emails and it all changes?

Well that is what happened after a gruelling morning of fighting with insurance companies and stressing about things totally out of my control. I turned to my emails and recieved a Sunshine Blog Award from one of my newest friends, Lou of Lou’s Labyrinth!   http://louslabyrinth.wordpress.com/about/

She said she nominated me because my blog brings sunshine to her life – awe, how sweet is that!

The rules are simple:

Link back to the person who nominated you, check (above).

Post the image of the blog award.

Image posted, check.

Image posted, check.

Tell seven facts about yourself, check:

I’m a freelance photographer and writer
I’ve been married for 35 years to my high school sweetheart, Clint
I’m a mother of three beautiful daughters (two sons-in-law), and seven grands!
I love all things SYFY! Not the horror kind the Star Wars and Star Trek kind
I love to read teen and young adult fantasy fiction (great writing without all the garbage)
I’m crazy about horses and wanted to be a veterinarian, but three children changed my career choices.
I’m a fierce friend!

And finally, Nominate 5-10 other blogs and let them know they are nominated, check! (if you are not already following these, you should check them out!)

http://diannegray.wordpress.com
http://livonne.com.au
http://leannecolephotography.com
http://apronhead.wordpress.com

http://stuffitellmysister.me

http://tchistorygal.com

http://lyndamichele.wordpress.com

http://lifeofaministermom.com

http://annesimagery.com

http://livelaughrv.wordpress.com

 

Thank you so very much Lou, you are a Sunshiny bloggers as well!

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. louslabyrinth
    May 13, 2013 @ 18:38:31

    Congratulation, you deserve it 😀 I’m gladthe award cheered up your bad day 🙂 xoxox

    Reply

  2. Leanne Cole
    May 13, 2013 @ 20:14:57

    I like the same sort of scifi stuff as well. I have two daughters, but they are still at school, though off to uni next year we hope. Lovely to learn more about you, and congratulations on your award, and thank you for the nomination.

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      May 13, 2013 @ 22:05:37

      Leanne, thank you! You have inspired me as a photographer as well as an artist! And you are so patient to teach an old dog new tricks! 🙂
      What’s not to love about Scifi! I’m such a geek! I’ve gotten in to the British Sherlock (not exactly SciFi, but close enough!) and I would watch Dr. Who, but I’m so far behind on doctors – I think the last time I watched it was in the 1980s!

      Reply

      • Leanne Cole
        May 13, 2013 @ 22:17:54

        Dr Who is brilliant, we love the new ones, though since they switched writers a couple of years ago, it isn’t as good.
        We are going to see the new Star Trek movie this weekend, can’t wait for that.
        I often wonder if people actually learn anything from my blog, so that is great to hear, thank you.

      • Darla Welchel
        May 13, 2013 @ 22:25:24

        My youngest is so into Dr. Who, which is funny seeing how we would put the girls to bed so we could watch! Now, she is all “tardis” this and “Dr. Who” that and I feel so out of it. I wished I would have started watching when it started back, but I’m not a big cable watcher, so I missed a few years before I even knew it was back on! The same thing happened with Firefly, it was over before I even knew about it and then I was so sad!
        We are going to opening weekend of Star Trek as well! I had all the series video taped off of TV (without commercials)! I won’t get rid of my vids even though I don’t have anything to watch them on! I could buy them all on DVD, but what an investment!
        BTW, I’ve learned lots from you and I’m sure others have as well!

      • Leanne Cole
        May 13, 2013 @ 22:36:33

        We have all the new episodes of Dr Who on DVD, we watch them a lot. Our youngest daughter is also obsessed with it. She loves it.
        Funny you mention Firefly, we love that too. We could only watch it on DVD though, I don’t think they ever showed it here. We have so many things on DVD.
        I can’t wait for Star Trek and Chris Pine, he is nice on the eyes. LOL. I have seen the old ones, but don’t have them on DVD. They are so funny now, but absolute classics for us trekkies.

      • Darla Welchel
        May 13, 2013 @ 23:04:07

        My daughter was wearing a new tee shirt yesterday that a friend of hers designed with a picture of the Tardis on it and the phrase Allons???? I guess it is something the dr. says????
        Yes, Pine is pretty cute and so is Zachary Quentin (I know I spelled that wrong). But they are both young enough to be my sons. LOL My youngest is stoked because Benedict Cumberbatch (the star of Sherlock on BBC) is the baddy in Star Trek.
        I still catch Star Trek Next Gen on the tube and yes, sometimes they are funny. The oldies are really funny.
        I have Firefly and the movie Serenity on DVD. Every time I watch them, I think, they need to make more! It makes me sad. But then the captain has gone on to be in another show and is not as fit anymore.
        I’ll be thinking of you when I”m munching on my popcorn and watching the hunks!

      • Leanne Cole
        May 13, 2013 @ 23:34:13

        How funny is this, that we are both big fans like this, brilliant, my new friend.

      • Darla Welchel
        May 17, 2013 @ 00:25:33

        🙂

      • Darla Welchel
        May 17, 2013 @ 00:32:29

        oh yeah, Guess what I saw this afternoon?!!!!
        Star Trek, Into the Darkness!
        It was so good! I won’t spill any info, don’t want to ruin it for you!

  3. diannegray
    May 13, 2013 @ 21:25:02

    Congratulations, Darla! Well deserved and thank you so much for the nomination 😀

    Reply

  4. lifeofaministermom
    May 13, 2013 @ 23:05:25

    You totally deserve this!! Thanks for my nomination and I hope you’re having a better day today! 😀

    Reply

  5. Trackback: City of Melbourne For Lease | Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY
  6. tchistorygal
    May 17, 2013 @ 00:07:46

    Hi Darla, Congratulations, and what fun to read your comments between our mutual friends and learn something new about all of you. Thanks for including me in your nomination! I am truly honored, my friend. I fought with internet people this morning because I didn’t have any gigabytes left after paying $10 last night at 7:00. 🙂 Thanks again! You always brighten my day! 🙂

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      May 17, 2013 @ 00:36:15

      🙂
      I hate dealing with internet, phone, and insurance companies.

      Reply

      • tchistorygal
        May 17, 2013 @ 06:27:22

        Agreed. Let’s just leave them alone from now on and ask someone else to call them for us! I try to pawn things off on Vince. Sometimes he falls for it! Not today, though! 🙂

      • Darla Welchel
        May 17, 2013 @ 12:44:19

        Clint doesn’t do confrontation and usually ends up signing up for two more years of something! 😛

      • tchistorygal
        May 17, 2013 @ 16:03:32

        haha My dad was like that. He would complain about something, then say, “Peg, make sure you call them tomorrow, and tell them xyz..” She said, if he called, he was nice as pie. I’m afraid I’m like my dad. When I was working I had Paula who was the strong arm. She had no problem ranting if something was wrong, and she was right. And she was ALWAYS right. The funny stories she tells. I should have written them down! Pizza guys that didn’t deliver our pizza – free pizza – you get the picture! 🙂

      • Darla Welchel
        May 17, 2013 @ 21:32:04

        See, I’m the one who always gets stuck being the baddy. Not because I want to, but because everyone would walk all over us if one of us didn’t’!

      • tchistorygal
        May 18, 2013 @ 06:22:41

        You definitely are not! 🙂

      • Darla Welchel
        May 18, 2013 @ 20:56:38

        🙂

  7. Trackback: You Are Appreciated…Blog Awards!! | Life of a Minister Mom

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,618 hits
