May Photo-a-day Challenge: Day 1 Color

Okay, I decided to try to do a photo-a-day challenge and I’m already one day late! Not bad for me! So here we go! I did take this on May 1, so I guess that counts; I just didn’t post it on the first! πŸ™‚ I went to a local botanical garden and snapped a few shots of the limited flora that didn’t get bit by the freeze and then ended up selecting an image from my own garden!

Day 1: Color

Day 1 Color: This little guy is in a small pot in my front garden.

Day 1 Color: This little guy is in a small pot in my front garden.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. alekim25
    May 18, 2013 @ 20:06:54

    Hello! πŸ™‚
    Actually I cant remember how I’ve found your blog, but here I am!
    I just wanted to tell you that I like it in general and that your Photo-a-day Challenge is very interesting (maybe I will take your idea for my new blog! Can I??)
    One more thing: I envy your English!! I’d really like to write like that someday!!!
    Greetings from Italy!!

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      May 18, 2013 @ 20:30:47

      Alec (I hope I got your name right, it was a guess),
      Hey, I am amazed at your English, seeing how it is not your native language. The only other language I can speak is . . . well darn, I don’t speak any other languages! πŸ™‚
      Just kidding, but I am very amazed at people who can speak and write a language that is not their own.
      However you found my site, I am glad you are here! I love sharing my thoughts and photos with people, which is probably why I’m also a photojournalist and reporter. I only do it freelance now, but I was full time up until a year ago! My oldest granddaughter, Isabelle, has leukemia. She was diagnosed at 7.5 years old, and is now nearing the end of her treatment! In December, she will be officially in remission! I say all that to explain why I’m only freelance now. Too little time to spend working all the time; there are things more precious than a job.
      You are more than welcome to use the photo-a-day challange, as I took it from another of my blog friends! I will post a photo of the list for May on May 19th posting! Although, I’ve found some of the challenges a bit boring – but then again, they are set to challenge us. When I’m not lazy, I do come up with some interesting entries!
      Welcome to my page! I look forward to getting to know you! Darla

      Reply

      • alekim25
        May 18, 2013 @ 21:42:59

        Thank you for your reply, Darla! Thank you very much also for following my blog! It’s new, so at the moment there isn’t that much to read, but I hope you will find it interesting in the future!
        Actually my name is Michela, my nickname is Mikela spelled backwards and 25 is the day of my birthday..mystery solved! πŸ˜‰ My bad, I forgot to sign the comment!
        Oh, that’s why your photos are awesome and you English so rich!!
        I’m glad to read that your granddaughter is near the end of her treatment πŸ˜€ I totally agree, there are more important things than a job or money.
        Here you are a brief introduction about myself, since my blog is till pretty empty: I’m a 23-years-old girl from the north of Italy. I’m studying Economics and Tourism in Venice (but now I’m taking a break because of a little injury!) and sometimes I work as hotel receptionist in my hometown.
        I’ll surely continue to follow you!
        Have a nice Sunday with your great family!
        – Michela

      • Darla Welchel
        May 18, 2013 @ 22:19:22

        Mikela, what kind words!
        I’m looking forward to reading more about you and your beautiful country! I live in Oklahoma in the United States of America in a small town located near the center of the state.
        I’m still a little confused about “your nick name spelled backwards?” and I guess you mean your birthday is the 25 of May? If it is, then Happy Birthday a week early! I hope its a great one.
        I’m sorry to hear of your injury. I too am recovery from a car accident (if you see day 6 of my photo-a-day, you will know more). Injuries are no fun especially at my age!
        I hope you can get back into your schooling and that you heal quickly.
        I wish you also a fantastic Sunday!
        Darla

      • alekim25
        May 19, 2013 @ 13:01:50

        Dear Darla,
        New posts are coming soon πŸ˜‰
        About my nickname I can’t explain it in other words πŸ˜› hmm…if you read my nick starting from the last letter, you will obtain Mikela, which is the pronunciation of Michela, my real name!
        No, I mean 25 of February! Hahaha we did a mess!!
        I’m sorry to hear about your car accident, I wish you to heal soon too! My injury is on the left knee, a few months ago the kneecap went out of its place :S anyway now I’m already much better, I only have some problems to double the leg completely.
        See you soon then πŸ˜‰
        -Michela

      • Darla Welchel
        May 20, 2013 @ 09:08:00

        Mystery solved!
        Ouch, I did that one years ago, its not an easy injury to overcome. Get well soon!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,699 hits
