Photography Challenge: Color

Since there really isn’t anything of color around my house right now, except for the previously posted toys, AND because I’m still having fun with my camera phone, I decided to take some images at a local home improvement store’s garden center. Even without the drought, my place doesn’t have a lot of pretty floral colors, mostly just green, because we cultivated a LOT of trees to provide cooling shade on our house against the harsh Oklahoman sun. That said, I often have to get outside my “comfort of home” zone to get anything floral on film (what do you call digital images? on data? on pixels?).

Color, color everywhere!

Color, color everywhere!

The HD feature, makes these lovely ladies bigger and bolder!

The HD feature, makes these lovely ladies bigger and bolder!

These delicate little ladies are pulling out all the stops to show us their true colors

These delicate little ladies are pulling out all the stops to show us their true colors

Like an erie spider opening up to the sun, this bloom begins to unfurl its petals for all to see.

Like an erie spider opening up to the sun, this bloom begins to unfurl its petals for all to see.

But I have noticed something about the way we humans view photographic images these days. We seem to be drawn for the over-the-top, over saturated images that come from High Definition. Is it because we view everything on HD from our computer games to our favorite TV shows? What is this inexplicable urge to change images into almost cartoon-like art? I have to admit, that I too am loving the brighter, larger than life images captured in HD. Is this just a fad? Will this too so pass? Are we as photographers losing our creative edge, bowing down to instant gratification of digital darkrooms???!!!

This bloom is similar to the one above, but the wind blew its tiny petals around just as I clicked (no shutter speed on an iPhone). But with a bit of darkroom magic, it can still become an interesting image instead up ending up in the trash.

This bloom is similar to the one above, but the wind blew its tiny petals around just as I clicked (no shutter speed on an iPhone). But with a bit of darkroom magic, it can still become an interesting image instead up ending up in the trash.

This is a copy of one of the above images, taken into Photoshop and embellished even more! Like I've mentioned before, you can't make copies in Camera+

This is a copy of one of the above images, taken into Photoshop and embellished even more! Like I’ve mentioned before, you can’t make copies in Camera+

Another dud of an image because of the wind, but the blurry, out of focus look blends well with the vintage and vignette from the iPhoto app.

Another dud of an image because of the wind, but the blurry, out of focus look blends well with the vintage and vignette from the iPhoto app.

Well, now that I’ve fallen off my soapbox, I hope you enjoy the pics as much as I did creating them!

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ingrid
    Apr 08, 2013 @ 21:21:22

    Oh, how these images make me long for spring even more. Love the pink flower. Can you believe we have a blizzard warning here in CO? I should have stayed in AZ longer….lol.

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      Apr 09, 2013 @ 01:33:21

      You have blizzards and we are getting our first severe storm warnings of the spring. We reached about 70 today and a cold front and storms are coming. So what did my hubby and I do tonight? We welcomed in the storm season by watching Twister! We watch it each storm season like we watch White Christmas each Christmas! We are weird, I know, but we are Oklahomans! Do you think we have an unhealthy view of tornados????? 😛
      The May 3rd tornado that claimed 11 lives in our community hit about a 1/2 mile from our home. We were very fortunate.

      Reply

      • Ingrid
        Apr 09, 2013 @ 14:42:22

        I grew up in Illinois so I too know a thing or two about tornados. That’s the one weather event that scares me the most. I guess it was good training for travel, because I always keep an eye on the sky….and the color of the sky. Hope the hail and high winds pass by you 🙂

      • Darla Welchel
        Apr 09, 2013 @ 15:44:18

        Thanks, I hope they miss us too!
        The icy roads scare me the most; I guess that is because I was hit head on when there was just a little ice on the road.
        You be safe on the roads!

  2. roughwighting
    Apr 12, 2013 @ 22:00:02

    Wow! The colors are so vibrant! I’m not having any luck taking great photos from my camera phone as you are.

    May the winds stay calm in your neck of the woods.

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      Apr 12, 2013 @ 22:58:57

      I haven’t gotten many good iPhone pics until I started using the Camera+ app. Its editing features make images very HD! Its fun to use, but it does eat up your data so be sure to be near a wifi when you do ANYTHING other than snap the picture. I learned this lesson the hard way. I don’t have unlimited (or very much) data, so I have to be very careful!
      Thanks, the wind has been mild here, but still a little brisk for anything other than a fast shutter speed!

      Reply

  3. Island Traveler
    Apr 13, 2013 @ 10:40:43

    Beautiful colors that are so alive and vibrant. When I want to photograph an instant garden scene, I also go to the nearest home improvement store like Lowes or Home Depot. Camera + is an awesome app. Been using it for almost two years and it always gave me the most amazing pics. Have a great weekend.

    Reply

  4. Darla Welchel
    Apr 13, 2013 @ 22:29:02

    This is the first time I have taken photos at a home improvement store, but it probably won’t be the last! I especially love the fact that the shutter lag is less with the Camera+ then the regular phone camera. Not completely like having a fast shutter speed, but oh so much better.

    Reply

  5. lifeofaministermom
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 04:09:55

    How vibrant! Gorgeous!!

    Reply

  6. tchistorygal
    Apr 17, 2013 @ 05:50:06

    You iphone does a great job. Must be the person at the other end! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,616 hits
