Phoneography Challenge: My Neighborhood

I don’t actually live in a neighborhood. I live in a rural area where I and many of my “neighbors” have a least five acres. So when WP set the phonographic challenge of photographing my neighborhood with my iPhone, I was at somewhat of a disadvantage. Plus, since we are in the midst of winter in Oklahoma, it is rather a bleak looking landscape.

I accepted the challenge and walked around my place photographing small portions of my landscape. I hope it meets the criteria. 🙂

Ivy on a metal pedal

Ivy on a metal pedal

Sunshine on ivy (the ivy is the only green things in winter)

Sunshine on ivy (the ivy is the only green things in winter)

Tiny little violas no bigger than the tip of my pinky grow heavily amongst the weeds. My grandchildren love these little flowers and hate when I mow them under.

Tiny little violas no bigger than the tip of my pinky grow heavily amongst the weeds. My grandchildren love these little flowers and hate when I mow them under.

I guess there is a bit of green in these weeds.

I guess there is a bit of green in these weeds.

 

The only thing that I have found that the iPhone can't do is focus on something small in the foreground when there is a lot going on in the background. This was the closest I got; if anyone knows how to accomplish this, please let me know.

The only thing that I have found that the iPhone can’t do is focus on something small in the foreground when there is a lot going on in the background. This was the closest I got; if anyone knows how to accomplish this, please let me know.

 

These dried weeds grow on my creek; they are about 7-8  feet tall. With the upward angle and the bright blue sky, they were a perfect subject for my iPone's capability.

These dried weeds grow on my creek; they are about 7-8 feet tall. With the upward angle and the bright blue sky, they were a perfect subject for my iPone’s capability.

I tried for a silhouette on this one taken on my creek bed.

I tried for a silhouette on this one taken on my creek bed.

I sepia toned these on my camera; I love the old world look give to these dried weeds.

I sepia toned these on my camera; I love the old world look give to these dried weeds.

Have a great day!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. My Life Afterglow
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 22:48:55

    Beautiful! 🙂

    Reply

  2. diannegray
    Mar 10, 2013 @ 12:11:21

    These are wonderful, Darla. I haven’t been able to figure out how to focus on something small in the foreground when there is a lot going on in the background either – but if I find out, I’ll let you know 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,749 hits
