Phoneography Challenge: iPhone Maddness

Okay, I’m not afraid to admit that I have never taken a decent iPhone photograph.  I am a photojournalist, and I work with Nikon SLR’s; I guess you would say that I’m a bit of a camera snob.

This is how most of my iPhone pics look, no thought to composition; why work on it if the image quality is so poor. I used my iphone as a desperate measure for times I didn't have my camera.

This is how most of my iPhone pics look, no thought to composition; why work on it if the image quality is so poor. I used my iphone as a desperate measure for times I didn’t have my camera.

But then I opened up my emails today and had a new posting from a blogging friend of mine, Island Traveler. His images were stunningly beautiful and all taken with his iPhone. He gave a hint of a new camera app that he purchased that apparently made all the difference. I was sure that he must have the top of the line iPhone, mine is just a 4GS, and not with the snooty Suri.

Not all my pre-Camera+ images were awful. This one turned out quite decent. As long as I had good lighting and was outdoors, they were okay.

Not all my pre-Camera+ images were awful. This one turned out quite decent. As long as I had good lighting and was outdoors, they were okay.

So I searched the app store for the afore mentioned app and found Camera+ was only a mere 99 cents! What’s to lose, its only a buck? So, naturally I downloaded (or is that uploaded) it and then went outside to my drought-stricken, post winter yard to see what I could find. (I also tried some inside shots as well). I attempted and few trick shots that IT had shown – note: staring up at the sun while you figure out where your camera angle is causes extreme tearing of the eyes!

This is the shot I duplicated from I.T. It was a lot harder than you would think to hold the camera steady, get the sun lined up in the lens and push the button with one finger.

This is the shot I duplicated from I.T. It was a lot harder than you would think to hold the camera steady, get the sun lined up in the lens and push the button with one finger. I love the flower flare caused by the sun.

Okay, surprisingly enough, it is really hard to take a picture of your own hand while holding an iPhone. And my eyes were watering like crazy.

Okay, surprisingly enough, it is really hard to take a picture of your own hand while holding an iPhone. And my eyes were watering like crazy.

This was my first Camera+ shot; to say I was surprised at the outcome would be an understatement.

This was my first Camera+ shot; to say I was surprised at the outcome would be an understatement.

When I came back inside and edited the images in Camera+ I was truly amazed. Even my simple 4GS phone took images to rival my big camera! Needless to say, I managed to drain my phone battery before lunch!

This is of the same kitty only he is much older. I played around with some of the editing features giving him a warmer look.

This is of the same kitty only he is much older. I played around with some of the editing features giving him a warmer look. I’m amazed at the amount of detail from a phone camera!

The Phonegraphy Challenge has forced me to go back to my roots in photography; without all the fancy lenses I had to get up close and personal and hunt for interesting things to photograph in my dismal yard. It was just what the doctor ordered to get my creative juices flowing.

Straight up through winter dead branches to behold the bright blue sky.

Straight up through winter dead branches to behold the bright blue sky.

Thanks I.T. for giving me a swift kick in the photography tush to get me out of my rut of thinking there is nothing to photograph if you can’t travel to an exotic place.

I will be posting my images throughout March’s Phoneography Challenge month! Because the image files are so large (5 mb), it does take a long time to save the images to my phone and even longer for them to be transferred via iCloud to my computer!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. stuffitellmysister
    Mar 05, 2013 @ 00:42:09

    Great experiment! Since getting my new phone I take more pics with it. While I still prefer my Nikon, there are just some places the phone is more convenient (and sneaky). 😉

    Reply

  2. diannegray
    Mar 05, 2013 @ 02:16:00

    I must use my iphone more for taking pictures. When I showed it to my mother-in-law she said, ‘In my day, phones were used for making phone calls.’ LOL 😀

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      Mar 05, 2013 @ 15:07:47

      Okay, if your mom-n-law is even close to the age of mine, then she was probably still using a crank phone. LOL Or, if she is my age (53), they she was still using rotary. I can’t believe how much technology has advanced in just my lifetime.

      Reply

  3. lifeofaministermom
    Mar 06, 2013 @ 17:09:37

    You and IT always have amazing shots! I use my Android phone for all the ones I post. I think it does pretty well, but we plan on investing in something like a Nikon this year. It’s always great to learn new ways of taking it to another lever!

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      Mar 06, 2013 @ 17:18:27

      Patricia, with a beautiful baby girl, you won’t be sorry you invested in a good camera. I can help you make a good selection. Let me know what you kind of camera you want (point and shoot or slr) and how much you want to spend and I know Nikon will have a perfect solution for you. My daughter bought a good medium priced camera before her trip to New Zealand and she came home with the most beautiful images.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,616 hits
