This is important information. I hope it helps others as it has me.

ellisnelson

child
I’ve been watching some of the TED talks that have been done over the past few years. There is no doubt that it’s becoming ever more difficult to keep up with the changing world of science and especially anything to do with healthcare. Just a couple of days ago I learned that antioxidants may not be the panacea they have been touted to be. So now I have to rethink my supplement choices and make sure my vitamins are “low dose.”

One of the most important TED talks I’ve seen concerned diagnosing children with developmental disorders and how we’re doing it all wrong. An estimated one in six children suffers from a developmental disorder including:

Mental retardation
Learning disorders (Dyslexia, speech & language disorders)
Attention disorders (ADD, ADHD)
Autism spectrum (Autism, Asperger’s)
Genetic disorders (Down & William Syndromes)
Sensory processing disorder
Epilepsy, seizures, sleep disorder

Traditionally, these disorders have been…

View original post 213 more words

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Island Traveler
    Mar 03, 2013 @ 03:21:42

    Thanks for sharing an informative post. I think this is one of the parent’s worst fears but a lot of times we are afraid of facing. When my son was about 2-3 years old, we were scared that he had speech delay and have Hyperactive behaviour. We saw professional help and was told he was fine but as a parent our instentions of making sure our kids are alright doesn’t stop there. Every year we watch their developmental milestone as well as how appropriate their behaviour are in school and with their environment. I hope and pray that kids with developmental problems will find the best of help and treatment as well as their families.

    Reply

  2. Darla Welchel
    Mar 03, 2013 @ 22:56:34

    My second grandson is on the Autism Spectrum. He has pragmatic language disorder, and it has been difficult. My daughter was very excited to hear of this study. If there is even a slight chance that something could make Mac’s life a bit easier, we’ll take it. I know that there have to be others out there also facing this dilemma

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,616 hits
