Travel Theme Photo: Shadows

I’ve never accepted the challenge of posting on Travel Theme Photos.

Mainly because I don’t get to travel much; I want to, I just don’t have the means right now. That said, when I saw this one on shadows, my mind immediately went to some images I shot on a short trip to see The Alamo in San Antonio, TX. I love architecture and The Alamo was chalked full of old missions that caught my attention. One photo completely stood out as a perfect candidate. The repetitive arches and the perfect lighting created the most spectacular array of shadows. This one remains to this day one of my favorite images. I love it in both color and B&W.

In color; these colors are muted, almost monotone, so the do not distract from the overall beauty of the stonework.

In color; these colors are muted, almost monotone, so the do not distract from the overall beauty of the stonework.

In Black and White; I love black and white, and what better subject than an old mission.

In Black and White; I love black and white, and what better subject than an old mission.

In the following two, the shadows help set a stage. I hope you enjoy.

Hidden from the sun, dark shadows make this underground chamber mysterious.

Hidden from the sun, dark shadows make this underground chamber mysterious.

This was a walkway lining a low setting of military barracks at The Alamo

This was a walkway lining a low setting of military barracks at The Alamo

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sixpuns
    Feb 09, 2013 @ 17:27:18

    Beautiful pictures. I never thought the Alamo would have such a good design.

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      Feb 09, 2013 @ 17:39:34

      You only have to look to the Alomo’s creators – the Spanish missionaries and ultimately Spain to see where the inspiration comes from.
      thank you for stopping by!

      Reply

  2. Island Traveler
    Feb 11, 2013 @ 10:13:00

    Amazing effect that makes the already beautiful photo even more richer and irresitble. The walkway was just perfect.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,749 hits
