Call Me

Call Me.

I love that tune by the 80s rocker Blondie. It is catchy, melodic, singable, and it is the main ringtone on my iPone.

To say I have an unhealthy attachment to my cell phone is probably an understatement. Do I constantly engage in text messaging, or am I on it 24/7?

This is how I carry my phone most of the time (I'll spare you the image of how it hangs on my person). This is also the reason I require an otterbox - I drop it a lot!

This is how I carry my phone most of the time (I’ll spare you the image of how it hangs on my person). This is also the reason I require an otterbox – I drop it a lot!

No, but I do keep in unnaturally close to my person at all times – as do a big part of the world’s populace.

My attachment started nearly a year and a half ago when my granddaughter, Isabelle, was diagnosed with Leukemia at the innocent age of seven. (Like there is not an innocent age to be given the horrific diagnosis of cancer)  Up until that time, I used my phone for work and as an emergency lifeline in case of car trouble and the such. I would come in at night and plug it up in the kitchen while I went off to technology free slumber.

Her first round of chemo caused several reactions including mucusitis, which enabled her to talk, swallow, breath, horrible pain and ate big holes in her mouth. This was her first trip to the ICU and the morphine induced comma for over three weeks. Hence why I was so attached to my phone!

Her first round of chemo caused several reactions including mucusitis, which made her unable to talk, swallow, breath and caused her horrible pain and ate big holes in her mouth. This necessitated her first trip to the ICU and the morphine induced comma for over three weeks. Hence why I was so attached to my phone!

 

But when Belle was admitted into the hospital, I couldn’t imagine being out of contact for even one second.

Thus my nemesis became my unlikely “pillow-pet.”

When I wake in the middle of the night, my first reaction is to reach up for the familiar feel of my phone. More often than not, it prompts inquires about the time, which leads to sleepless forays into all things iPhone.

When I wake in the middle of the night, my first reaction is to reach up for the familiar feel of my phone. More often than not, it prompts inquires about the time, which leads to sleepless forays into all things iPhone.

I wanted to make sure that my duaghter could reach me with requests, prayer needs or information at ANY hour of the day or night. I am never without it, and I mean NEVER! I even take it into the bathroom while I shower, fix hair and well, you understand. I carry in my hand or on my person at all times. If I don’t have a pocket (or it won’t fit because of the bulky otterbox), I place it in my shirt in my corset (okay, bra! I’m trying to be delicate)!

Even though she hasn’t had a hospital stay in over a year. I am hooked. My need to stay connected to her progress has morphed into an obsession with technology. I honestly don’t even get that many calls – maybe a half a handful a day. But replacing the information addiction is the love of games, kindle, the time, iCal or Facebook status checks. And along with this new-found addiction is an inability to sleep or function without the familiar feel of that cursed rectangle in the palm of my hand.

Even though, in spite of the continued chemo meds, Isabelle's counts continue to be low, she is otherwise completely healthy and thriving! God is a miraculous God!

Even though, because of the continued chemo meds, Isabelle’s counts continue to be low, she is otherwise completely healthy and thriving! God is a miraculous God!

Every day, I promise myself that I will break the habit and move my phone charger back to the kitchen. And everyday, I panic and cling to it as a life preserver.

Maybe tomorrow, until then – Call Me!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lifeofaministermom
    Feb 06, 2013 @ 17:00:48

    Darla, hi! I realized I hadn’t heard from you in a while and as I made my way to your page I saw the responses you left for me. I’ve missed you friend! Praying all is well!

    If I’d joined this daily post I’d certainly have to admit that my attachment to my phone is HUGE! You don’t even want to know how I react on the rare occasion I leave it at home (sad right?) but I am getting better. Leaving it in other rooms more frequently and keeping it on silent mode so I don’t race to see every social media update, email, text or call, are small steps. It’s so hard to resist! 😉 You, on the other hand, certainly have a legitimate reason for beginning that attachment, and I’m glad you’re enjoying your phone while only expecting good news to continue to come!

    Reply

  2. Darla Welchel
    Feb 06, 2013 @ 17:32:15

    Patricia,
    I know, I missed you too. I’m such a dunce. Apparently all my notices (even mine) were going to my spam. Tells you how preoccupied I’ve been. I didn’t even really notice that I wasn’t getting any notifications from word press. I did think it was odd that I wasn’t getting any photo challenges. Two months worth of replies I had to make! Not bad for me.
    I bet that baby is getting sooooo big! I too go nuts when I forget my phone at home (has only happened once or twice, but its not pretty). LOL
    Take care and look forward to seeing you on the word!

    Reply

  3. Island Traveler
    Feb 08, 2013 @ 12:22:37

    God is indeed a loving and generous God.Health is a miracle . I wish for Isabelle the best of health. It just moves me everytime I read her story. He courage and wonderful, bright outlook in life. As for the phone, I will keep it close too all the time so I will always be in touch with my love ones. Have a blessed weekend my friend.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Awesome Prayers for Trey! | Through The Lens

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,699 hits
