Weekly Photo Challenge 17: Glitter

I know, I missed “2012 in Review,” but honestly, I haven’t had time to locate all the photos. Plus, it is always so hard for me to choose; so if I get to that one, I will be getting them out of order. No surprise there; its kind of a “thing” with me.

Glitter. Other than sparkly gems, the thing that captures my mind’s eye the most often when I think of all things Glittery, is snow and ice. Its the purest form of glitter, especially when you get God’s sun in the picture! Or Son, take your pick. 🙂

Here Comes The Frosted Sun

Here Comes The Frosted Sun

These shots were taken on a particularly frosty morning on my way to work (when I still punched a clock). I was in a hurry and couldn’t wait for my windshield to clear, so I turned east down a lonesome road hopping the sun would do the trick before I hit any busy roads. What I was rewarded with was the most spectacular display of hoarfrost and sunshine I had seen in a while. So, being a staff photographer for the newspaper, I took “work” time to stop and shoot the images (yes, they did appear in the paper).

Sun at a different angle

Sun at a different angle

More of a side shot with less golden light. I love the interesting patterns.

More of a side shot with less golden light. I love the interesting patterns.

Needless to say, by the time I was done, my windshield was clear enough to drive safely!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Island Traveler
    Jan 06, 2013 @ 11:52:48

    Wow! They look like sparkling diamonds and gold. The frost and sun effect is spectacular. Happy New Year!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,881 hits
