Daily Prompt; That Stings – The Shack

I don’t usually grab onto the WP Daily Prompt – I usually can find enough stuff to babble or rant about without a prompt, but this one caught my attention.

It said to talk about the last book you read that bit or stung. Several come to mind, but the absolute last book I reread was The Shack by William P. Young.

Screen Shot 2012-12-28 at 9.51.52 AMThe Shack “is a metaphor for the places you get stuck, you get hurt, you get damaged…the thing where shame or hurt is centered,” Young said in an interview. We all have a shack in our lives, and as I read this, mine was shown to me in all its technicolor horror. Things that I had tried to bury in the far recesses of my mind dug its way up to the surface, reopening wounds that weren’t all that too well healed.

Then why would I encourage you to read this book? Because, while you are dealing with the pain of the protagonist and recalling your own bitter memories, you soon become transformed into the story and the healing that follows.

Yes, there is a lot of sadness, bitterness and grief in the pages of this NYT bestseller, but there is also unsurmountable joy, peace and above all healing.

As I cried with Mac over his own unimaginable tragedy, and shed tears over my own scars that have haunted me for nearly my entire 53 years, I began to hope. Hope for a better place than this horrid world we now live in. I also began to see that sometimes bad things do (more often than not) happen to decent people, and although I can’t (and probably never will) see the big picture, God knows, and I have to trust in His plan. This lesson was made crystal clear to me as was the ‘one piece of clarity’ that I gleaned from this particular reading – “Love without an agenda!” Wow, what a concept.

This nugget of wisdom first stung me greatly, because when I examined myself closely, I realized, that I always have some kind of an agenda. Whether it is something as benign as getting more hugs from my grands, I have an agenda. To love without an agenda is to understand the depth of God’s love, and to understand the depth He went to to ensure that none of us perish in this evil world. Sorry, didn’t mean to get preachy, but this book will change the way you look at God, Jesus , the Holy Spirit – The Trinity. This concept has always eluded me (and I was raised Catholic). If you struggle with the concept of the Trinity, The Shack might just help to solidify its reality in your mind.

Although The Shack was written as fiction, you cannot help but hope to dream that this encounter did truly happen, and that everyday people like you and me can actually physically wrap ourselves in the arms of Papa. I hope you will pick up a copy if you haven’t already read it, and if you have, maybe decide to reread it again. Some people get all wrapped up in the imagery of God as a robust black woman – but not me. For Mac to accept God, He had to appear in a form that Mac wouldn’t shy from. After all, we are ALL created in God’s image – so I imagine Him as a kaleidoscope of character and personality traits. But one thing is always constant: His love never waivers, never changes and He never apologizes for it. HE LOVES ALL OF US WITHOUT AN AGENDA!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. stuffitellmysister
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 17:21:08

    This book came to me at a difficult time in my life. I read it. Then I immediately read it again and the 2nd time, with a highlighter in hand. Like you I learned much about “hope” and also how important it is for me to forgive….for my own sake! I think I will pull this out and read it again! Great post ♥

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      Dec 28, 2012 @ 22:49:22

      Thanks Paula, I can count on one hands the books that have had this affect on me. Another is Hind’s Feet on High Places and the other was just a booklet that I can’t recall the name of right now – darn old age. But the lessons have stayed with me even if the titles haven’t.

      Reply

      • stuffitellmysister
        Dec 29, 2012 @ 00:52:47

        I agree….there are always those “few”. Another life changing one for me was The GIft of the Blessing (Gary Smalley). I gave that one for grad and wedding gifts for years! Then there’s The Noticer….another awesome one! Sorry….books….I could go on forever!

      • Darla Welchel
        Feb 06, 2013 @ 04:54:52

        paula, I’m sorry for the tardiness of this reply. I’ve apparently stopped getting any wordpress notification from followers or those I follow. I don’t know what’s up with that or how to fix it. I’ve been so busy that it didn’t dawn on me that I wasn’t getting any email notification until tonight.????? any suggestions?

      • stuffitellmysister
        Feb 06, 2013 @ 16:02:40

        Ugh, Darla….I am still “limping” along on this….wish I could help!

  2. Marian
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 17:22:04

    I read that book a year ago and yes enjoyed it. I am glad that a lot of people did read it as it was about religion. me

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,616 hits
