Weekly Photo Challenge 16: Surprise

I know I am probably late on this post, but I was waiting for Christmas so I could get some fresh SURPRISE images. Christmas morning photos may not be the best composed, lighted or even sharp photos, but they are often the most genuine.

My grandson, Ethan has always like Pokemon, so his Aunt Micah knitted him a Pikachu hat. He was VERY surprised, and maybe just a wee bit embarrassed. After all, he is 12!

My grandson, Ethan has always liked Pokemon, so his Aunt Micah knitted him a Pikachu hat. He was VERY surprised, and maybe just a wee bit embarrassed. After all, he is 12!

Don't look at me!

Don’t look at me!

Sheer Joy

Sheer Joy

Slapeze Slippers, Just What I wanted!

Slapeze Slippers, Just What I wanted!

This is so cool!

This is so cool!

Monkey, Monkey's new Dresser!

Monkey, Monkey’s new Dresser! Mac has a very special friend called Monkey Monkey. He has always wanted clothes for him, plus he loves boxes and containers. I found this old junk jewelry box, painted it and made it into a wardrobe for MM. Then I made teeny tiny clothes including a super hero costume! To say he was surprised is an understatement.

Everyone is excited

Everyone is excited

Isabelle asked for Camo clothes so she could play army with her brothers; apparently pink is easy to spot in the woods. She was very excited!

Isabelle asked for Camo clothes so she could play army with her brothers; apparently pink is easy to spot in the woods. She was very excited!

I made Aeden a dress up suitcase, she was thrilled!

I made Aeden a dress up suitcase, she was thrilled!

Rebekah always has the best reactions, even if I didn't catch her face!

Rebekah always has the best reactions, even if I didn’t catch her face!

I think she likes it!

I think she likes it!

Our family is so big and my living room not so much, that it is often difficult to get good shots, but it never stops me from trying. I still managed to click off nearly 200 shots on Christmas Morn; most of the time, I miss the event until I look at my images. One of these Christmases, I’m going to leave my camera off – Nah, not really. 🙂

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. stuffitellmysister
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 14:56:37

    Thanks for sharing all the surprises with us, Darla! Love seeing the fam! ♥

    Reply

  2. Darla Welchel
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 15:20:20

    Thanks Paula, I love sharing them with everyone! I loved your puppy Christmas fun as well!How was your Christmas? We are gearing up for round two; Sarah’s Bday is Dec. 30. Normally I would have all the decorations boxed up and every speck of Christmas wrap gone, but not this year – I’m leaving it up for her 30th BDay party. Y’all should come, she would love to see you guys!
    When I apologetically told her I was leaving them up, she said, “Mom, I’m not a kid anymore, its okay.” LOL I guess old habits are hard to break. I never wanted her bday to be a leftover or an extension of Christmas.

    Reply

  3. Island Traveler
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 15:38:23

    The most beautiful, joyful, excited , fun surprise faces and images there is. Christmas gives us that priceless gift of spending a happy time with out love ones. The Pikachu hat is so awesome. My son loves Pokemon too. HIs favorite was Sharmander.

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      Dec 28, 2012 @ 15:46:56

      Thanks, I.T.! I end up missing some of the best shots because I’m watching instead of photographing or photographing while I’m watching, whichever the case may be. Everyone told me that Mac (my #2 grandson) almost cried when he opened his Monkey Monkey dresser; I missed it. Mac loves his MM and usually has him with him everywhere. He has sensory issues and MM calms him. My own girls liked pokemon and it is still popular. Happy New Year!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,845 hits
