Sigh . . . All That Is Left To Do Is Wait

I panic and rush around, afraid I will never get it all done.

But then when I’m through, I find that I have days to wait.

It is the same every year; I panic because I think I will never be ready in time, and then I finish my preparations days ahead of schedule!

Christmas Time! You gotta love the excitement and the ulcers it causes. 🙂

Shopping done and every gift is wrapped: CHECK

I love sparkly packages and pretty bows! This year's gifts contained a lot of "repurposed" and handmade items.

I love sparkly packages and pretty bows! This year’s gifts contained a lot of “repurposed” and handmade items.

Stockings hung and filled with all sorts of goodies: CHECK

The Grownup Stockings. Stockings are a BIG tradition at our house. Everyone puts something in everyone else's stocking.

The Grownup Stockings. Stockings are a BIG tradition at our house. Everyone puts something in everyone else’s stocking.

The Grands stockings. I made each of these by hand out of repurposed sweaters.

The Grands stockings. I’ve made every stocking by hand out of repurposed sweaters.

Christmas goodies made: CHECK

It is tradition (a hold over from when I was a kid) to make Spicy Hermits (my dad always called them rocks because my mom always overcooked them and they were as hard as) and Pecan  Sandies. I also make Foolproof Fudge every year. This year I tried something new - good, but won't make the list next year.

It is tradition (a hold over from when I was a kid) to make Spicy Hermits (my dad always called them rocks because my mom always overcooked them and they were as hard as) and Pecan Sandies. I also make Foolproof Fudge every year. This year I tried something new, blueberry crumble – good, but it won’t make the lineup next year.

Now all that is left to do is relax and cuddle up with the hubby watching old Christmas favs!

Hot Dog! Its time for some popcorn and movies!

Hot Dog! Its time for some popcorn and movies!

I hope EVERYONE has a Very Merry CHRISTmas and a Beautifully Blessed New Year!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marian
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 23:49:11

    I know what you are saying I plan for days and then the kids say they are not coming .Brian, Rob and Les be here but theo the girls. me

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      Dec 23, 2012 @ 14:38:21

      I am so sorry Aunt Marian, It is so hard to depend on kids to bring us happiness. Seems like a small gift, but they often fall through for one reason or another. I hope your time with you boys will be joyous!

      Reply

  2. Island Traveler
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 17:22:03

    That is one festive and merry preparations. I could feel the joys of Christmas in every picture. Love the stockings. Reminds me that Christmas is about family and the memory we share together. Wishing you and your family all the love, joy, peace and great health this Christmas and everyday.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,621 hits
