Photo Challenge 15: Delicate 2

While visiting an amazing small aquarium in Jenks, Oklahoma several years back, I tried my hand at shooting underwater images through glass. After all, I knew I would never get a chance to do this up close and personal (because of fear and expenses). I was pleased at how they turned out, but I was also enthralled at just how delicate both the subjects I was shooting and their eco system were. I revisited the aquarium at a later date and discovered that most of the tanks were not doing as well. They were in the process of starting over, but it made me realize just how fragile the balance of nature can be.

These tiny little jellyfish were no bigger than the tip of my pinky. They were hard to shoot, because they wouldn't hold still!

These tiny little jellyfish were no bigger than the tip of my pinky. They were hard to shoot, because they wouldn’t hold still!

Screen Shot 2012-12-16 at 9.58.58 AM

This little guy was hiding

Screen Shot 2012-12-16 at 9.59.14 AM

I loved the color, the tiny little feathery fronds and the softness of these underwater plants.

Screen Shot 2012-12-15 at 3.01.38 PM

Strawberry anemones

I loved the delicate trendils of this pink lady.

I loved the delicate trendils of this pink lady.

 

 

I hope you enjoy!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Island Traveler
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 16:29:55

    Under the sea, a new, amazing, beautiful world awaits. Today, you showed us how beautiful that world is. Thank you. Merry Christmas and God bless you and your family always.

    Reply

  2. Darla Welchel
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 17:07:19

    Thank you so much for your kind words; I needed them more than you’ll ever know today! Merry Christmas and a Blessed New Year to you and yours as well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,749 hits
