Permanent Makeup . . . REALLY?????

I’m a Facebook and email subscriber to several online shopping deal finders; I don’t actually purchase much, but I love to look at the latest deals.

This morning, I saw a deal for 67% off permanent makeup, and I had to ask myself, “Really?”

Some women don't really need any makeup, for the rest of us, thank goodness for makeup!

Some women don’t really need any makeup, for the rest of us, thank goodness for Max Factor!

With ever-changing trends in hair, clothing and even makeup application, one has to ask if it is really wise to permanently paint your face with a makeup trend that you may get tired of in a year or two or perhaps even six months.

I can even think back from when I was a teen in the late 70s and remember all the crazy trends that I adapted to over the years. Some of them (the big hair and weird makeup of the 80s) make me shudder to think that I might be stuck with a particular style for life. At the time, I’m sure I thought they were completely awesome (80s & 90s), only to realize when I awoke from my media induced hypnosis, that they were truly horrid.

So I did a little research and compiled an image montage of makeup through the ages. I was amazed at how much the trends have flip-flopped in just the last few years. I realize, that like fashion, whatever tickles your particular fancy goes, but you really have to ask yourself if your fancy won’t change tomorrow.

Screen Shot 2012-12-12 at 10.42.23 AM

Clockwise from top left, examples of makeup styles of the 40s, 50s, 60s and 1970s.

Clockwise from top left, examples of makeup styles of the 40s, 50s, 60s and 1970s.

The very scary 1980s and 1990s

The very scary 1980s and 1990s

Trends from 2008, 2010, 2011 and 2012 (yea, I know I left out 2009).

Clockwise from top left: Trends from 2008, 2010, 2011 and 2012 (yea, I know I left out 2009).

In fact, the projected makeup trend for spring of 2013 is actually taking a “less is more” approach, with nearly nude faces. So, my advice is skip this particular deal and stick to applying your makeup daily. After all, it is a small canvas, just how long could it take to paint it?

The projected makeup trend for 2013. Would be hard to get that look with the cat eye, eye liner of earlier years.

The projected makeup trend for 2013. Would be hard to get that look with the cat eye, eye liner of earlier years.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Guat
    Dec 14, 2012 @ 23:08:20

    Dude…that would have been my reaction. Seriously permanent make-up? Dude not cool. Being a Chapstick girl I’m into the less is more approach on that one Good post…nice pics. Nice make-up history 🙂

    Reply

  2. lifeofaministermom
    Dec 15, 2012 @ 14:29:53

    Darla,

    This post made me crack up, but it’s so true!! Our faces our small canvases. Do your due diligence daily. LOL! As the daughter of a Mary Kay mama, I wouldn’t have it any other way! 🙂

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      Dec 15, 2012 @ 16:23:50

      I used to sit and watch fascinated my oldest daughter put her makeup on when she was a teen. It seriously would take her over an hour. That is where I coined the phrase, “Its a small canvas.” I never understood how it could take her so long! I was (am) an insomniac, so I always laid out all my school clothes, books etc. and would get ready, including makeup, in about 5 minutes. And I always got compliments on my makeup. Never could figure out why it took her so long, I guess some artists are more particular. LOL
      My youngest daughter started selling MK when she was 16 (had to sign up under someone else’s name). I still have a ton of eye color, but have since switched to Bare Minerals. Still apply it in about 5 minutes (unless I’m doing my eyes).
      Have a great day and thanks for stopping by.

      Reply

      • lifeofaministermom
        Dec 17, 2012 @ 06:05:31

        Anytime! And I’m on the slower side (not an hour though, lol), but maybe you should see about breaking records in quick make-up application! 😉

  3. eof737
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 06:20:00

    It can be a risky undertaking… 😉

    Reply

  4. Darla Welchel
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 15:41:19

    I don’t even like to put on regular eyeliner (afraid of poking myself in the eye); can’t imagine using a needle to apply it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,621 hits
