Weekly Photo Challenge 12: Renewal 1

I personally think this subject would have been better suited for the springtime when renewal is all around us. As it is, everything around me is in a state of going dormant.

the huge cluster of buds (they are really not red, but I guess fushia bud doesn’t roll of the tongue as well) show the maturity of this tree.

But with that said, I have to admit that pursuing through my photo archives for those moments that mean renewal to me has reminded me to look to life once again – that it is not that far off and never really out of reach.

I never tire of photographing this tree

I have chosen images from my Redbud tree. Although it is in a sad state of dying, it still puts out the beautiful buds each spring on its few remaining living limbs that have given this state tree of Oklahoma its colorful name. In its prime, this beautiful tree was rounded and perfect, looking like it belonged in the most beautiful Japanese garden and not in the middle of a state once known for its Dust Bowl.  I haven’t the heart to cut it down, so I’ve planted grape hyacinths on either side of its trunk, and they are doing well to cover the empty dead branches. I love this symbiont (some would call it parasitic) exchange of life going on between these two plants, while one is dying the other is just beginning to live. And because they bloom at different times, I have color all spring.

Still beautiful. It is pretty when the buds actually open up, but I love this stage better.

This plant, bush, shrub begins its flowering life as a tiny bud.

But ends up quite large

Hope you enjoy my color!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. rommel
    Nov 14, 2012 @ 23:11:14

    Still looks good considering its state. Oh, perhaps your pictures are getting better and better. 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,845 hits
