Photo Challenge 11: Geometry

Even though I really disliked math and never took geometry as a high school student (or college for that matter), I love geometry in photography. Lines, arches, circles, intersections, leading lines and convergences get my photo heart pumping. I love to figure out new ways to make them special on film (or now, data). Buildings, doors, windows and other types of architecture make me pause to see the beauty behind the lines.

I have posted this before, but it remains one of my favorites. The St. Louis Arch is massive and has been photographed tens of thousands ways. Here is my take on a familiar landmark.

I loved the stacking lines in this image of a door within a window

I love the repetitive lines of these forgotten doors

In this image, man and nature do a dance of geometry as the shadows mimic the manmade structure.

These are all images I have posted in some other blogs, but they remain some of my favorites. Have a great week.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. eof737
    Nov 05, 2012 @ 09:02:57

    Al excellent examples… Thank you for checking in during the Hurricane… your kind wishes were appreciated!

    Reply

  2. Marty Barton
    Nov 05, 2012 @ 15:38:03

    Love the Arch I would have never known what it was…

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      Nov 05, 2012 @ 15:49:52

      Marty,
      I stood with my back too it and leaned over backwards and shot up. I was trying to do something “new” for an often photographed icon. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,621 hits
