Photo Challenge 10: Foreign

This should actually be number 11 for me as I totally missed the silhouette challenge. It wasn’t that I didn’t have any images that would fit the bill; on the contrary I had dozens, but none seemed awesome enough in comparison to others I had seen. So, I procrastinated long enough until a new challenge was set.

In honor of Halloween, I decided to share some Day of the Dead shots I got while in Mexico.

This one is Foreign. Seeing how I’ve only been to one country outside of my own, my selection is sparse, but here they are! The first Three shots pay homage to The Day of the Dead (seeing how it is almost Halloween). We were in Progresso on that day and the shops were filled with items honoring this holiday. The last two shots are of my one of my most favorite subjects, architecture.

These, I’m sure are more for the tourists than the citizens of Mexico.

This was an actual Day of the Dead alter set up by a local woman for her mother.

I love how other countries are not afraid to use color in their city buildings; especially pink! Where I live, we are too “dignified” to use colors like these – our loss.

I was saddened to see the face of these old building being smoothed over with concrete. But I guess it was better than tearing them down or letting them fall completely apart. I can only hope they will be restored to their old beauty.

I hope you enjoyed a snippet of my trip to Mexico.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. eof737
    Nov 05, 2012 @ 09:06:29

    I’m glad I got to see your photos for the challenge. They are beautiful. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,881 hits
