Creepy Bugs and Beautiful Grands

I don’t like bugs.

But I do love my grandchildren.

I won’t ever pass up any time that I can spend with my grandchildren. Even it involves VERY creepy bugs!

Aeden (bottom left in purple) and Owen (on her right) started out together on the rug; Aeden soon moved to my side.

A local library was holding a special program in honor of Halloween called Spooky Bugs; I saw the advertisement and decided that this would be a perfect grandma and me time with Owen (grand number four). He loves bugs and knows a great deal about many species. He loves to catch them and watch them in his bug viewer, and he is always gentle with them. He also loves to collect locust shells (this is the outer skin that they shed during molting that is a perfect see-through replica of the bug). He recently learned to hang them on my screens and on his momma’s.

Imagine looking out your window to about 30 of these little guys clinging to the screen. Great fun!

I knew he would love this program, so I put it in my calendar and made plans to take him. It was almost a failed adventure; my first alert on my iCalendar didn’t set, so it didn’t remind me the day before. My “second alert” one hour before did set and went off on time. Unfortunately, I hadn’t made final preparations with his mom, my hubby was on his way home with pizza and I only had less than an hour to get to their house (15 minutes away). I called my daughter Sarah lamenting about my failed plans and sat wishing I wasn’t so forgetful.

This scientist loves her bugs and the children she teaches about them – she would have to, to be seen out in public in this getup.

Mere minutes after I resigned my plans, my hubby walks in with the pizza. An idea struck; I could do this. After all, I’m an ex-photojournalist and am used to rushed deadlines and last minute stories! I dialed my daughter, made new plans, choked down a piece of pizza and flew out the door. In between the phone call and choking down the pizza, I thought perhaps grand number five (my second granddaughter Aeden) might like to go. Bugs aren’t’ her thing, but she loves the library. So I made another call and our party of two became a party of three.

Owen and the large Walking Stick.

We made it to the library with minutes to spare, and while Owen sat on the rug in front of the big display, Aeden felt safer by my side instead of sitting in front a slew of creepy crawly things. She let me know that she didn’t want to touch any of them, period.

Aeden soon got over her fear of the bugs; big brother Owen helped.

Every girl is braver with big brother’s hand on her shoulder.

Up walks the entomologist decked out in full Black Widow costume and gives a very lively and informative talk on bugs. I learned more than I ever wanted to know about bugs, like the fact that they outnumber humans about two million to one – yuck! And that we consume about a zillion of them in a day in “government approved” portions – double yuck! But Owen was mesmerized; Aeden really just wanted to find the Fancy Nancy books.  By the time the talk was over and it was time to view and touch the bugs, she still wasn’t sure she wanted to participate, but seeing as I was the only adult with them, she had to stay with me and Owen. She actually did really well, and both her and Owen loved all of the bugs -me not so much!

These Hissing Cockroaches aren’t hissing!

Tarantula Molts, like Locust Shells only furrier.

There were live ones and “pinned” ones to view. They loved them all.

This was the 8″ Giant Millipede – this one totally creeped me out, but not as bad as the giant centipede – Tingler flashbacks.

This giant scorpion was “non-stinging;” Owen and Aeden each touched it. Me, no way!

Miss “Fancy Nancy, No Bug Touching, Period!” really overcame her fear of bugs.

In fact, they loved it so much, that we waited in the long line a second time so they could touch all the creepy crawly bugs again. Bugs like giant 8″ millipedes, hissing cockroaches and giant (non-stinging) scorpions. They did great; I felt like I had bugs crawling all over me and was sure that I would have nightmares.

An assortment of the Creep Show. Oh, did I mention that I shot most of these photos standing behind Owen and Aeden, holding my camera from overhead and upside down? It was very crowded.

I don’t care if it is “non-stinging,” it still gives me the heebie geebies!

Did I mention I don’t like bugs?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ingrid
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 22:46:03

    I’m with you….yuk! But how special to share this experience with the grandkids 🙂

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Oct 26, 2012 @ 01:38:55

    That was super cute! They are still talking about it. Just to give him due credit, it was cousin Mac that taught Owen to stick locust shells on the screens:)

    Reply

  3. stuffitellmysister
    Oct 26, 2012 @ 04:19:09

    Well I wish I hadn’t read this right before bedtime!!! Where is that Raid?!?!?

    Cute pics, Darla 🙂

    Reply

  4. Darla Welchel
    Oct 26, 2012 @ 14:51:40

    LOL Paula, That is for sure; even after the entomologist swore that no bugs except black widows and brown recluse are dangerous – I still felt like I wanted to be armed with an arsenal of bug sprays.
    Thanks! Have a great day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,749 hits
