Photo Challenge 8: Happy

I have avoided this photo challenge like the plague.

When presented with the challenge of what makes me happy, for some reason I balk. I always balk facing happiness; perhaps it is because I struggle with that issue. I have no right to be unhappy, but I’m hardwired to lean in the other direction. I know I have been happy so many times, but the darkness always seems to blur those lines and make it impossible to remember.

I do know that sunflowers make me happy so I will share a couple of images of a couple that I grew and shot on film many, many years ago. I have since lost the negatives, so these are a bad scan of an old print, but I keep them around because their sunny faces never cease to bring a smile to my lips. The last one was shot with my iPhone – not bad for such a small medium. πŸ™‚

How can you not smile and be happy looking at sunflowers?

I shot this Mammoth Sunflower that I planted right outside my back door with my really old film camera. This scan doesn’t do the image justice.

This beautiful fellow fell victim to a very hungry grasshopper, but it still captured my attention and made me smile. (taken with my iPhone)

The other thing that makes me truly happy is my family. I love it when we are all together enjoying each other’s company. But this also brings me great sadness when events don’t live up to my expectations. It is no ones’ fault but my own; but then again, I did mention that I was hardwired that way. I won’t bore you with the whys or hows, but I will share a couple shots of last Christmas. Of all my children, my son-n-law, Caleb, was not in the photos, he was very sick and missed our annual event. Thanks for stopping by.

Clint and one of my son-n-laws, Christian. Isabelle and Ethan and the back of Owen’s head made it into this shot. πŸ™‚

My three beautiful daughters Rebekah, Sarah and Micah – with their grandpa in the middle (oh and baby Caera).

This is Papa and me (in a sling no less) with six of our seven grands. Chloe was still cooking in mama’s oven. πŸ™‚ They are (back row from left) Mackenzie, Ethan and Isabelle. (front row from left) Owen, Caera and Aeden.
There is no greater joy than grand babies!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. eof737
    Oct 12, 2012 @ 19:18:26

    I’m glad you took the time to post beautiful photos of sunflowers and your family… They are gorgeous and uplifting. Happy is what we choose to make of it, not just how others define it. I read your comment in DP and came to say hello. Stay Inspired! πŸ˜‰
    Eliz

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      Oct 13, 2012 @ 06:18:27

      Thank you so much Eliz; I do so enjoy sharing my photography, stories and most of all my family with my online friends. You are so right about happiness being a choice of our own making; often times, I forget that simple truth, choosing to live in the darkness. I have to ask, because I have wracked my brain and cannot come up with an answer on my own, what does DP stand for? πŸ™‚
      Darla

      Reply

      • eof737
        Oct 13, 2012 @ 06:43:12

        Daily Post page on WordPress… I found your comment on the commenting post by Michelle. πŸ™‚

  2. Darla Welchel
    Oct 13, 2012 @ 14:51:12

    Thanks Eliz for checking me out!

    Reply

  3. rommel
    Oct 14, 2012 @ 06:33:40

    No worries, Darla. You’re not alone on this one. It’s human nature that WE, every person in the world, sometimes are drawn to invite chaos and struggle. That major cliche can apply here. WE often welcome self- destruction in order to re-construct.

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      Oct 14, 2012 @ 22:57:48

      That is so true. I wish it wasn’t. i have a friend who manages to find joy and peace in so many of life’s struggles. I aspire to me more like her. So far – it aint’ workin out so well. :-}

      Reply

  4. island traveler
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 15:26:47

    A true picture of happiness.seeing your family all happy, surrounded by love’s warmth, having the best of time and memories inspires me. Thank you for this. Best wishes and have a blessed day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,699 hits
