Rantings

I purposely don’t watch the news, because I hate getting riled up only to realize that there is really nothing I can do. But there has been a couple things that I caught on the evening news that got me steamed and writing is my only outlet (for we know that voting doesn’t really help much).

The first bit of news that my husband recorded and forced me to watch was concerning the lawsuit that Hobby Lobby filed against the Obama administration. According to a clause in the Obama Care bill/law, companies are forced to provide their employees insurance to purchase the “Morning After” abortion drug. “By being required to make a choice between sacrificing our faith or paying millions of dollars in fines, we essentially must choose which poison pill to swallow,” David Green, Hobby Lobby CEO and founder, said in a statement. “We simply cannot abandon our religious beliefs to comply with this mandate.” After listening to the news report, and more importantly the “people on the street” comments, I was really upset and confused.

Firstly, everyone knows that Hobby Lobby is a Christian based business – hello, they don’t open on Sundays (remind you of a chicken firm?). The comments made by people on the street were full of, “Its a woman’s choice” and “everyone has a right to these medicines.” I won’t argue this point (mainly because it won’t do any good – I am a Christian, so you should know my opinion on this issue). Fair enough, I’ll grant that it is every woman’s choice, and I do know that there are cases of rape and incest, which would warrant such a decision although I personally do not agree.

If we all agree, for the sake of argument, that it is a choice, shouldn’t the business owner also be allowed the same choice not to cover this medicine without being fined $1.3 million a day? After all, the government doesn’t get involved if your place of employment chooses not to cary dental or vision, so why must they get involved and force people to purchase insurance for a very controversial drug? It is just one more way they can suck God out of a country that was founded under Godly principals.

The next news story concerned the terrorist attack on the US consulate in Libya on the anniversary of 9/11, killing four including the ambassador. I don’t know all the details, or if the propaganda I’ve seen is true or false, but I do know what I feel. And, that is that our current leadership is an insurgent plant to tear our country apart from within. I know, I sound like a looney conspiracy terrorist. But look at the signs, look how far away from any kind of Godly principals our country has traveled in the last four years. I know, we really weren’t that close to Godly principals before, but now we are even further away.

Frankly, I fear and worry. For my family, my country and for my freedoms that are being trampled every day. Our country – with every apology to every terrorist country – is becoming weaker by the day. Occurrences like 9/11 are likely to become common place as no one fears or respects us anymore. Terrorist will die for their belief in their gods, but our country chooses to pretend like we don’t have one in hopes that we won’t offend anyone.

Everyone has the right to their own beliefs and choices, everyone that is except Christians. There is something horribly and fundamentally wrong with this picture.

So much more than our rights are being bombed, burned and trampled. Everyone has the right to believe what they want to believe except American Christians; our government thinks we should apologize for being a Godly nation.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. island traveler
    Sep 14, 2012 @ 14:52:14

    At work, at home , everywhere I go, people are scared about the current administration. If it is asking us to ignore our faith in God, or the very freedom we fight for then we have a very wrong leader. America is a beckon of freedom to express our thoughts, belief and free from fear. The 2012 new 9/11 tragedy of the US consulate in Libya is a tragic reminder that evil is among us and we all need to wake up and help one another. Great post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,621 hits
