Weekly Photo Challenge 3: Near and Far

To be so near and yet so far away; the St. Louis Arch has been photographed so many ways, it was difficult to get a truly unique image. I basically stood with my back to the arch and bent over backwards to get this angle.

I love perspective photography.

Mainly because it is where photography truly becomes ART! I love my art photography; it is what makes me happiest.

I have a love affair with windows and doors, and at an old mission in San Antonio, I found many wonderful examples of both. In this image, I captured the remains of an old door far away through a nearby window.

But, unfortunately, art photography hasn’t made me any money (except that photo contest where I won $100). I suppose, while I was a photojournalist for a local weekly newspaper, my art photography made me money, but only because my editor loved to display my art on front page, so technically I made money then with my art. But for all practical purposes, I’ve only made a living with my wedding and portrait side of my photography business. Yes, it is true, that I give the business side of my photography a truly artistic touch, but it is not the same as composing a truly awesome piece “Through the Lens” and beholding what becomes of that composition.

So, when I saw this weeks photo challenge, I departed from my grandchildren (my favorite subjects) and decided to show off some of my perspective work taken in various places I’ve visited. Hope you won’t be bored! I also hope that I don’t have to die, before my art work becomes famous! 🙂

This is one of my favs; mainly because it reminds me of a really fun and productive road-trip to Beaver’s Bend in Oklahoma. This single red bloom looks much larger up close than its brethren farther away in the background.

At the Alamo, this image was of the long corridor connecting the soldiers’ barracks. A good example of leading lines and diminishing perspective.

You don’t have to have a lot of distance to get a Near and Far photo. This image was taken in the only working mission church in S.A. I pointed my camera from the bottom left hand corner up to the top right corner. The light and stained glass did the rest. Amazingly, this image is also beautiful in B&W!

Okay, it might be cliche to take photographs of the river walk while in San Antonio, but I did try to put my spin on it. I loved the way the light played off the water just as the boat came out from under one of the dozens of bridges.

I’m not sure this really falls into Near and Far, but I love the not so noticeable repetitious pattern of the arches in both the foreground and background. Add to that the juxtaposition of the criss-crossing shadows and this one has become one of my favorites. From a Spanish mission in Texas.

I also love really beautiful architecture and tall buildings, especially against beautiful skies.

Near Northeastern Oklahoma: Fall foliage so near you could touch, frames mountains too far away to seem real.

Glass spires stretch towards the pillow-soft clouds in the sky. Truly near and far.

I loved the receptive pattern of all these broken relics from the past lined up like forgotten soldiers in an ancient war.

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. stuffitellmysister
    Sep 09, 2012 @ 05:20:13

    We are going back to S.A. the end of the month. (by train!) We did this two springs ago and loved it. Cliche or not…I love taking pics there!!! Enjoyed these!

    Reply

  2. Darla Welchel
    Sep 09, 2012 @ 05:47:15

    Oh that sounds like so much fun, wish we could join you!

    Reply

  3. island traveler
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 11:55:29

    Every beautiful image is a magical revelation. I admire your passion to bring out the best in your subjects. Splendid job! Thanks .

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      Sep 11, 2012 @ 15:26:43

      Thank you, I try. After spending 7 years in the newspaper industry, I sort of lost some of my zeal – trying to regain it now. I tried to comment on your Kindergarten blog, but it was closed/full. I so feel your pain; one of my grands has Pragmatic Language Disorder (on the autism spectrum), and no one understands him. They just treat him like he is a bad child, because most of the time, he seems normal. It is/was a constant source of anxiety for my daughter and her husband. The answer for us was to homeschool. It is much easier to handle Mac’s meltdowns at home instead of the teacher just sending him to the office and almost all the other homeschool parents in their coop understand and are patient with him. He is a delightful, highly intelligent child who is now getting the opportunity to excel instead of being held back because of his “bad behavior.”

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,845 hits
