Weekly Photo Challenge 2: Free Spirit

I don’t know if it is just the time in my life (grandma time) or what, but when I think of Free Spirit, I immediately think of my grandchildren.

Even though Ethan is the oldest, he has never lost his imagination or zeal for fun. A nerf gun, empty lego bucket and a towel can transform anyone into an evil space lord.

There is no greater joy than watching your progeny play, run or just having fun. And likewise, there is nothing sweeter than the sound of children laughing. It makes my spirit soar, it makes it happy. When I was younger, my mind would have gone to my own young children who took great pleasure in having fun. They are now in the time of their lives where they are very serious, so the mantra of the free spiritness is passed to my daughters’ own children.

Nothing brings out the smiles faster than snow and sleds. Mac is our second oldest and can find fun in the ordinary and not so ordinary things.

Even in the midst of chemo; Isabelle, our third oldest grandchild, could laugh and find fun in everything she did whether it was playing with a small toy or hiding the nurses stethoscope.

I have seven grands now and little more than double the fun as when I was raising my kids. But I think the reason I am so enchanted by their ability to grab life by the tail and enjoy simple things like empty boxes,  pom poms or dried locust shells is because as a grandparent, I don’t have to have the day to day worries that come with being a parent. The what ifs, don’t fill my mind nearly as much as they did when I was raising my own children. Simply put, I have more free space in my brain for the fun stuff.

One of the favorite pastimes of the grands is running the “loop” around the living room, kitchen and game room as Owen demonstrated last Thanksgiving.

That doesn’t mean that I don’t worry about them too; after all, I am the queen of worry. But when you only see them for short periods once or twice a week, you tend to gobble up all the fun moments instead of dwelling on the runny noses, torn clothes or unfinished homework.

Aeden is an entity all her own, she loves to play especially in water (or doing crafts). She is the oldest daughter of my second daughter and she is all girl!

Every child, without exception, will squeal and play to his or her heart’s content when paired with a kitten. Caera is no exception. Kittens aren’t as frightening as puppies, perhaps because they tend to run away instead of jumping on children. Plus they don’t usually lick. Notice I said usually?

Baby Chloe hasn’t really shown her free spirit side yet. Right now, she is just growing and letting her mommy know when she is hungry, wet or sleepy. But she smiles at you and makes your heart soar.

When Isabelle was sick, I got a re-taste of the frantic worry for her health and well-being, but not nearly as severe as her parents. This must be some release valve God puts in grandparents to balance out parent’s fears. That doesn’t mean the love is less intense, it is just how it is. Maybe it is more experiences, but I tend to think it is more by design.

In any case, if I am ever down or feeling “closed” in, a healthy dose of my grand babes will always make me feel alive, will always set my spirit free.

Why is it little girls love to dance in their birthday suits right after a playful time in the bath? Isabelle and Aeden twirled and danced to their own music just like their mommies did when they were this age.

My own girls about the same age as their daughters, just after they danced their heart’s out in the buff. 🙂

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tchistorygal
    Sep 04, 2012 @ 04:47:22

    Very sweet story and cute pictures!

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      Sep 04, 2012 @ 21:17:33

      thank you; I didn’t give it my all. I fell yesterday and damaged my wrist/hand/arm so made typing interesting with one hand. Its amazing how the thoughts flow differently with one hand. And this is coming from a person who until 8 years ago, couldn’t compose on keyboard – had to write it out first. LOL

      Reply

  2. stuffitellmysister
    Sep 04, 2012 @ 22:55:13

    sweet babies!

    Reply

  3. Darla Welchel
    Sep 05, 2012 @ 13:47:06

    No freer spirits than children!

    Reply

  4. island traveler
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 11:58:10

    Your family is full of warm, happy smiles that brings sunshine to our world. I see images of my son in your family’s amazing free spirit. Thank you and have a blessed day.

    Reply

  5. ned
    Jan 31, 2017 @ 22:12:33

    sweet!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,881 hits
