Fear the Juice!

You know, it really is true what they say; necessity is truly the mother of invention.

Well actually this could be classified as more of a discovery rather than an invention; but it was of my own making.

My discovery, invention or technique came about from those dreaded four words my husband begins uttering about this time every year, “Let’s get a watermelon!” Now, I have nothing against watermelons. In fact, I rather like eating them. But its the ensuing mess that makes me cringe.

You see, I have an aversion to messes, especially sticky, hard to clean messes. The kind of messes my husband makes when he cuts up an often way too large watermelon. Juice everywhere: on the counter, all over the sink, on the floor, a trail of drips leading out the door when he not so carefully takes out the rinds. And if you have ever tried to clean up watermelon juice, you know that one wiping up will never do the trick. Sometimes I run into sticky spots days later.

Even though I hate the mess and often try to discourage him from bringing the offending fruit into the house, I usually  lose the battle. So one day, I decided to take a scientific approach to my problem. How to cut up the melon without all that juice ending up all over my kitchen? So, here just in time for the melon eating, seed spiting season is my simple and foolproof way to mess-free melon extraction.

1. First, always wash your melon prior to the first cut. You never know where the big boy has been laying.

2. With a large knife, cut it in half lengthwise (I used a seedless melon for this tutorial.

I use two knives: a large butcher knife and a medium paring knife. Always be sure to wash the outside of the melon before you make your first lateral incision.

3. Using the large knife, cut a grid pattern of approximately 1-2 inch squares. Be sure to cut all the way through the meat but not through the rind, or you will have defeated the purpose of this little experiment.

Cut carefully, avoiding a puncture wound.

4. After the grid is finished, use a smaller knife to cut the melon from around the outer wall of the rind.

Cut all the way around and down to the bottom of the mellon rind.

5. Using a good size sturdy spoon, begin scooping the meat out of the rind in a layering pattern.

The perfect spoon is the key to success!

Be sure not to get too excited at this point or you will flip melon everywhere! Continue this step until all the melon is removed. Repeat the process with the second half of the watermelon.

Don’t get too wild with your scooping or you will still end up with a mess.

6. When you have scooped out all the meat, being careful not to spill the juice, remove the rind to your compost bin or neighbor’s pasture – did you know that horses love watermelon rind?

See, all the juice is inside the rind bowl and not all over your kitchen.

7. Enjoy your tasty summer treat in perfect bite-size pieces without the huge sticky mess!

If you like to eat your melon straight off the rind, then this method is not for you. But if you fear the juice as much as I do, then this will be your new best technique.

Aside

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Darla Welchel
    May 26, 2013 @ 15:01:10

    Reblogged this on Through The Lens and commented:

    In honor of Memorial Day and all the picnics and backyard parties, I’m reposting this. If you don’t need this info now, you will before the summer is out. Although, I just priced a medium size watermelon yesterday and it was $10! That is ridiculous!

    Reply

  2. stuffitellmysister
    Jun 21, 2014 @ 00:04:06

    There’s almost always a big ole bowl of melon in our fridge in the summer months. When we want something sweet….it’s a great treat. I like salt…Marvin does not. 🙂
    We have found that most wildlife loves melon! And my crazy dogs do too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,845 hits
