A Girl’s Other Best Friend

We all know that a girl’s best friend is supposed to be a diamond. Or so the saying goes.

Sparkleies! I love sparkleies!

I’m not sure where the saying originated; probably some post war-era idea that a girl is not complete or happy unless she is engaged or married. I’m not sure exactly how I feel about that, but before you get all anti-femminisim on me – that’s not what this post is about. Although I do have to give a shout-out to all the strong young women who are not yet wed and are still waiting for Mr. Right to come along and propose.

For Me, I just like Sparkly things. Yes, I love being married too and will have been for 34 years this coming March, but I have to say, I just love the way gems sparkle and make me feel pretty. But again I digress. This post is about our OTHER best friend. The one that soothes our savage breasts or at least calms us during that ugly time of the month when we become less than beautiful princesses or love goddess.

I’m talking about chocolate!

Pure Indulgence!

I have had a long love affair with chocolate. I’ve often teased that whereas some members of my family became addicted to things that eventually killed their bodies, I, being one with my genetic heritage, became addicted to chocolate.

I mean I love it in almost any form. Chocolate chip cookies, double chocolate cake, chocolate candy (especially if you throw in some carmel and pecans), chocolate fudge – heck, I even love just plain chocolate chips. Since I have become cold natured after losing over 155 pounds (hard to do when you are addicted to chocolate), I have found a new favorite chocolate indulgence that not only keeps me from ruining my new healthier lifestyle, but also quiets the cravings for chocolate – oh, and with an added benefit of warming me up!

I’m talking about Homemade Hot Chocolate!

There is nothing better to warm your bones and your heart than a creamy cup of hot chocolate. Up for a little adventure? Try adding a dash of cinnamon or chili powder.

Now, I must confess, I didn’t make this one up on my own. A good friend, Deborah Buchanan, shared her recipe with me, and I’ve been making it almost every day since. There is no sugar in this recipe, just a bit of Splenda, and if you use skim milk, there is also no fat. I’ve even made it with almond milk – Blue Diamond, Almond Breeze is the best, for those with lactose intolerance; it just takes a bit more patience to make.

What you get is a yummy, wholesome, rich, easy-to-make, chocolaty treat. Enough chocolate to help you through the most severe chocolate withdrawals and I’m sure it is totally approved by CA (Chocoholic’s Anonymous). I know it works for me; sometimes I even splurge and toss in a dollop of whipped cream if I’m feeling naughty. So get out your mug, spoon in some good quality cocoa and prepared to be hooked – you won’t regret it.

HOMEMADE SUGAR FREE HOT CHOCOLATE

1 cup skim milk (or almond milk)

1 tsp of vanilla

1 heaping tsp. of cocoa (I use a Dutched blend)

2 tsp of Splenda

In a microwave safe container, heat one cup of skim milk for one and a  half minutes or until piping hot! If you are using almond milk, this step will take longer as you must heat it of half power, it usually takes about 3 to 3 1/2 minutes.

While the milk is heating, put the next three ingredients into your mug. You can squish out the cocoa lumps if you like while you are waiting.

When the milk is heated, pour about 2 tablespoons of hot milk on dry mixture and mix well getting out all lumps. This will form a thick chocolaty paste.

Be sure to squish all the big lumps

When you have your lumps out, continue pouring the hot milk over the chocolate mixture. Stir until well blended. Top with whipped cream or mini marshmallows. Enjoy!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. stuffitellmysister
    Mar 11, 2012 @ 22:35:51

    sounds perfect for a day like today, too!

    Reply

  2. Darla Welchel
    Mar 11, 2012 @ 23:07:26

    Yuppers, making mine now!

    Reply

  3. Darla Welchel
    Oct 12, 2014 @ 16:28:35

    Reblogged this on Through The Lens and commented:

    Ooh! Fall! Time for fires, warm afghans and hot chocolate! Enjoy!

    Reply

  4. diannegray
    Oct 14, 2014 @ 18:53:43

    You had me at chocolate! xxxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,667 hits
