Sweet Desserts

The first of a new year always brings about an onslaught of promises to eat better and get more exercise. Along about March, many of us have problems sticking with those promises, especially when it comes to denying our sweet tooth. And frankly, artificially sweetened food with aspartame, only makes us grave real sugar and more carbs.

When my husband and I started our journey to a healthier lifestyle, we too faced the same dilemma with wanting something sweet to satisfy our hunger for sugar.

One night as I was fixing our dinner of lean protein and vegetables, I glanced over at our fruit bowl and noticed that the pears and apples were getting a little past their prime.   An  idea formed, and I got out the cutting board, a casserole dish and some other good ingredients and began to prepare what has become one of our most favorite and satisfying desserts. I chopped the pairs and apples in small bite-size portions and added them to the casserole dish alternately with golden raisins (its what I had, but I like it better with this type), chopped pecans, cinnamon and a small amount of Splenda. I’ve never really measured any ingredients, I just mix it until it looks good!

Make sure your fruit compote is mixed well, if you think it needs it, you can add a little water.

I stirred it all really well and popped it into a 350 degree oven for about 45-60 minutes.

The result was so yummy – kind of like an apple pie with no crust or sugar. And although the fruit does have carbs you need to count (if you are diabetic), it is totally free of processed sugar. Yes, it is true that Splenda is an artificial sweetener, but it is more natural and less harmful than the others. A person could omit this step or use honey (be careful, honey has a lot of sugar grams), but using less than a 1/4 of a cup for the large bowl of fruit is worth it.

When the fruit compote is done, it will be golden brown and the fruit will be soft. Don't overcook or your raisins will burn. If needed, you can cover for the last 15 minutes of cooking.

You can even vary the ingredients if you want, but I’m not sure what other fresh fruit would work well – maybe peaches. Hmm, I’ll have to try that one. I did add dates one time – won’t do that again! I do love dates in cookies, but in this compote, they became mushy and grainy. I didn’t like them in it at all. I’ve also used other nuts like walnuts and almonds – you could use multiple kinds of nuts. But to date, my favorite way of having this delectable treat is with my original recipe.

I make it whenever I have fruit about to go south, and it lasts us about a week or more. Be sure to warm up leftovers a bit, because this is one dish best served heated.

Sugar Free Fruit Compote

2 Apples, chopped

2 Pears, chopped

1 cup golden raisins

1 cup chopped pecans

1-2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 cup Splenda

Mix ingredients alternately and stir until all fruit is well coated with cinnamon. Bake in a 350 oven for 45-60 minutes until tender; stirring every 15 to 20 minutes to prevent top raisins from burning. Allow to cool a bit before serving.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. stuffitellmysister
    Mar 08, 2012 @ 20:15:33

    This sounds similar to an apple crisp without the crunch. Wonder how an oatmeal mix would work with this? Thoughts? Sounds yummy, regardless!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,616 hits
