Is she for real or is it another bag of false promises?

I voted for her.
Mary Fallin. I’m not sure why, other than she was Republican.
But up until last week, I had never really paid much attention to what or who she is.
I had the opportunity to hear the new Governor speak at an industry convention, and I have to say I like what I heard – for the most part. She spoke common sense when so often politicians speak in circles often causing more confusion than clarification.
And then when I studied her State of the State address, I was further inspired by her words of trimming excessive and nonsensical government spending, standing against Obamacare and improving not only Oklahoma’s health care system but the health of Oklahoma and “really” improving education reform.
But as I re-read her speech for the third time, I started to read between the lines. Words like, “all of us will have to do more with less,” and “reforming our worker’s compensation system” had me wondering what all of this political talk really means.
If she actually does what she claims she is setting out to do, then well and good – she will be my hero. But if there are hidden agendas, then only time will tell the truth.
I guess you could say that I’m jaded by too many political lies and hidden agendas. Is it truly impossible to believe that a political leader actually has my best interest at heart?
So often the answer to that question is yes. Over the centuries, political leaders have proven that the buck really stops with them – literally, in their pockets.
They claim to be about the people, about saving the average tax payer money, but when push comes to shove – they are about exulting themselves, their careers and their bank accounts.
Politicians, no matter the party, always talk about balancing the budget and saving tax dollars right before they spend hundreds of thousands or millions on inaugural balls or expensive vacations.
I’m still reeling over the fact that our current president sent a presidential plane to retrieve his daughter’s dog when she missed him while they were on vacation in Maine – how does this save me money?
I can’t even afford to take a normal vacation, much less charter a plane for one of my pets.
I do hope Mary Fallin will turn out to be the exception rather than the rule. I do hope that she really can cut governmental spending by reducing waste like excessive paper use and procedures.
But I also hope that she will buckle down and take a look at out-of-control legislature and government agency payrolls and unnecessary parties – the real issues in budget shortfalls.
Mary, are you to be my hero or my nemesis? I hope hero. I personally can’t take much more of the latter.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marty SHEEPLEHERDER Barton
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 20:09:02

    Good post Darla I hope for my home state of Oklahoma that your new Governor lives up to expectations. I voted in Texas for the first time and voted against the incumbent Republican Rick Perry, the man is so so entrenched in big money like alot of politicians. I actually had a choice of voting for a Libertarian and thats where my vote went. Some may say my vote was wasted but I feel a vote against someone is just as good even though I knew Perry would probably win. Lets just hope your new Governor dont pose shirtless and put it on Craigs List..

    Reply

    • Darla Welchel
      Feb 12, 2011 @ 15:33:13

      I agree Marty, But I have to post a correction about the Obama comment. Apparently the doggy flight (as one paper reader pointed out) was slightly off . According to a retraction article from the newspaper I found the source, Obama and family took a vacation to Maine, the tiny airport couldn’t support AirForce 1 so they took a smaller 19 passenger plane. The pooch arrived on the second 19 passenger plane with additional staff members.
      But, it still proves my point (if not so dramatically) about governmental extravagances. I mean, most tax-paying Americans can barley afford to go on vacation much less one with two smallish jets and enough entourage to fill those jets.

      Reply

  2. Darla Welchel
    Feb 12, 2011 @ 15:37:08

    Yeah Misty, I had already been called on that one, see my reply to an earlier comment. I have already written my correction for the newspaper. This is what happens when I’m forced to come up with a column on the fly “after” deadline has passed.
    Concerning Fallin, she seemed nice – genuine, but only time will tell.
    It was the Sentinal Morning newspaper in Maine. They are the ones who took the original photo and ran with the story. Unfortunately, I didn’t see the retraction until after I went to press with the story.
    But my goal in the entire column was to get people to think, research government. Looks like all I managed to do was get them to research me. oh well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 21,618 hits
